And the rest is knitting

There are times (ultra mope-tastic times) when I feel like printing up a t-shirt that says “I turned 30 and all I got was a PhD and a bunch of yarn.” Because most of the time the world doesn’t actually care if you have a PhD, or yarn, even if if it’s very nice yarn. Much of the world would prefer that you have a husband or children, or pets, or property, or a full time job, and I don’t actually have any of these things. Mostly I would be OK with having a job (and I’m working on that), the rest can come later if it needs to.

But then there are days like yesterday, the day I did actually turn 30, when it did actually feel OK to say “I turned 30 and I have a bunch of yarn.” Because yarn and the people who come attached to it are pretty darned cool. And it is cool to have a twin to turn 30 with. I’m just sad for my see-stor that she ended up feeling under the weather for the later stage of the day and couldn’t enjoy it all as much, but that’s OK because we’ll do a re-do with dinner on the weekend and properly relax for a bit. I wonder what my fellow birthday-mates did with their day?

Yesterday, though, there was yarn. If it’s your birthday, it’s OK to come back with a small haul, right?

Photobucket

Some of this, I anticipated. The Malabrigo Lace is going to be a Bleeding Hearts Stole (I’m copycatting Emily on this one), and I did expect to come away with a bit of sock yarn, even if I ended up with more than a “bit”. The sweater’s worth of Cascade 220 Heather was unexpected, but when Romni has a 20% off sale, that’s when you get sweater’s worth of things, I say.

We did a good effort crawling Toronto yesterday, me and a lovely posse of knitters and knitting supporters:

Photobucket

Natalie, Steph‘s hubby D, (blog-free) Dee, my partner in all birthdays, Steph herself, hiding behind Kim, hiding behind T, who has absorbed a shocking amount of knitting and yarn knowledge for someone who so far has not actually learned how to knit. They were an awesome birthday posse.

We need to go…over there…

Photobucket

Thank you for having such lovely yarns, Toronto. We did some fondling…

Photobucket

Photobucket

Pondered Life, the Universe, and Everything:

Photobucket

And then the day was over and I fell into a coma sleep and woke up this morning with more yarn than I woke up with yesterday. In my world, that’s a good day. Onwards to my 30s!

32 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

32 responses to “And the rest is knitting

  1. Happy Birthday! Sounds like a perfect day!

  2. Amy

    Happy Birthday! Your yarn haul is very pretty…can’t wait to see what you make with it.

  3. wiscjennyann

    Happy happy birthday! Wishing you a happy, healthy and fibery 31st year!

  4. It’s definitely a good day when your yarn stash grows so much! Enjoy and happy 30th!

  5. Happy Birthday!!!

    It’s OK not to “fit in” and not to have property, kids, or husband if you don’t feel like having them. I have these kind of thoughts too, since I am not very career-house-car oriented. As long as you are enjoying it, and by looks of it, you are. And hey, you’ve got PhD, great friends, and so much yarn!!! I think it’s better than any house, car, or even a husband.

    BTW which yarn store did you go to for your b-day? I will be visiting Toronto in a week and I’ll have some free time to explore the city. I’ve already been to Lettuce knits and Romni wools but would like to hear more suggestions.

    Thanks and HAPPY BIRTHDAY again!!!

  6. Happy, happy birthday! The day itself is always weird, because of the pressure to have the best day ever, but it looks like you had a nice one!

  7. Heartiest congratulations on a Birthday Well Spent.

  8. Happy birthday! Sounds like a great day :)

  9. Happy Birthday! Don’t let the lack of traditional milestones get you down, you have a PhD, which is awesome. And it will hopefully lead to career that you love which is more valuable than a job any day of the week. And I think property is overrated anyway.

    You should do what you love and not worry to comparing yourself to the traditional things one is “supposed to have”, though I’ll need some to tell me this in a few months when I hit thirty. It just can’t be, I’m too young to be almost thirty!

  10. Sounds like you had a great 30th- and your birthday trat yarn looks awesome!

    I turn 30 this year too- I have a job, but no husband, house, kids, pets, etc. I do have a lot of yarn, though. ; )

  11. Em

    Hmm, I turned 30 earlier this year and “all I got was knocked up”! (When I would have thought for sure I’d have had a PhD…)

    I think you’ve done great so far, and apparently the 30s are awesome, so here’s to you, and your sister, and to yarn stashes!!

  12. Kai

    Yay for Birthdays and Yarn Crawls!!! :) Glad you had a great time…

  13. Tara

    What is your Ph.D. in–I’ve just discovered your blog. I’m working on my Ph.D. in English, but I was planning to pass your blog on to an English professor/poet friend who is an avid knitter (on Etsy, no less).

    Anyway, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

  14. birdwoman

    Happy birthday! And there’s nothing wrong with a PhD or yarn. *Contemplates dusty thesis and growing stash* Plenty of time for all that other stuff in future!

  15. Holly

    That last photo is inside “Big Fat Burrito” in Kensington Market, isn’t it. Boy that’s a tasty place to eat.

    Congratulations on turning thirty, Glenna. It’s a milestone, and the PhD is nothing to sneeze at, that’s for sure. I’m glad you enjoyed the day and that Romni had a 20% off sale to boot. What a nice coincidence!

    Happy Birthday!

  16. I am 29 and have a couple of years left on my dissertation so I can commiserate. I’m glad you had a great birthday. Fun yarn acquisition!

  17. Kate

    Happy Birthday!!

    Looks like you had a fantastic time. Yarn crawling sounds like a good way to spend the day.

    Yarn and PhD are no small milestones – go you!! (We should start a club… a yarn, PhD, no husband, no kids, no pets club…)

  18. Happy Birthday!!! Do what you want to do, be what you want to be. Yeah!!!

  19. Happy Birthday! It looks like you had a fabulous day.

  20. Sounds like the perfect way to spend a birthday! Many happy wishes for your coming years (and your yarn stash).
    And I would say, that the PhD as well as the yarn is pretty good going!

  21. Fabulous yarn haul for your Happy Birthday! Sounds great to me, fondling the fibre, spending the day with good friends and your Birthday Partner, (Hi, Martha, Happy Birthday to you also! feel better soon!) yep, sounds perfect.

  22. Lovely day :o)

    Being 30 and happy is what matters – and its you and not any of the status things that can make you happy – well except for yarn of course ;o)

  23. Happy belated birthday! While I get the feeling that you need a job, it is my personal goal to not need/have a full-time job when I’m 30, and not feel anxious about when my next allowance comes in, so I can splurge on yarn. ;) So I’m definitely in awe that you’ve made it to 30 without a full-time job and all that other stuff that people think you “need” to have. It looks like you had a great day without that stuff anyway!

  24. Moggle

    Happy belated birthday, looks like you had a wonderful day. I heartily approve of all your yarn choices.

    Put off getting a job for as long as possible, they seriously cut in to the knitting time!

  25. Meg

    HAPPY (belated) BIRTHDAY TO BOTH OF YOU!!!!!

    Your t-shirt beats mine…”I turned 30 and all I got is a tattoo!” Men? Houses? Seriously overrated! Yarn? Seriously underrated.

  26. Lin

    That looks like such a great day, with some lovely looking people, happy 30th birthday!

  27. Happy Birthday! It only gets better from 30 on.

  28. Trine

    Happy birthday Glenna! I’m glad you had such a good day. :) I hope my next birthday comes with as good a yarn haul!!

  29. I agree with everyone here. Not having the “traditional” things in life doesn’t matter at all if the things you DO have bring you satisfaction and joy. And 30 is very young yet. On my 30th birthday I did not have any of those things you mentioned, either–and, five short years later, I marked my 35th birthday with a house, a husband, two kids, and a job that pays for all of it. And you know what? No matter how much I love the things I have, I sometimes long for the days when what I really had was freedom! So enjoy what you have in the moment. The rest will come when it’s meant to arrive.

  30. Happy birthday to you and your sis! I’m so sad that I couldn’t join you in the festivities. Hope you had a sherpa to help you with that haul! ;-)