Daily Archives: October 2, 2008

But it’s only 750 yards

So two and a half weeks ago I was at the Kitchener-Waterloo Knitter’s Fair and returned with a small haul of new yarn. I followed our friend Dee’s lead and cast on for something right away. She, of course, finished her something within, oh, a week or so, and meanwhile I’m still plodding. It’s not the most horrible plodding, per se, I just sort of thought I’d be done by now. It’s my second Forest Canopy Shawl:

Photobucket

The yarn is really quite lovely on the hands, and is just made for shawls – it’s fingering-weight merino hand dyed by Michelle at The Sweet Sheep, in ‘Super Skeins’ (this colour is ‘Depth’) that are long enough that you can get a shawl out of a single one, no stopping to switch to a second or third skein, no weaving in ends in the middle of your lace pattern. Highly brilliant. In fact I might even get another one in a different colour, next time I’m at a local festival.

The only downside of course, is that I’ve knitted at least 15 pattern repeats by now and I still have 100g of wool left and I’m starting to feel like I’ll be knitting this shawl forever. I mean, it’s a fingering weight shawl, shouldn’t this take, like, 2 seconds? It’s 4.5mm needles, not laceweight on 3.25mm or something…

Then Martha pointed out that this is yardage equivalent to two pairs of socks, and I do very rarely finish two pairs of socks that instantaneously. So when you put it that way, I’m doing just fine for time. I can be patient. This has nothing to do with wanting to breeze on through and start another project right away to ease my stash guilt before Rhinebeck. Nope. Nosiree, nothing of that sort. Um.

But in good news, I did finish the first sleeve of the Swing Cardi last night, so I”m on the home stretch with only the second sleeve, neckline, and finishing to go. Just over two weeks to go…

In other news, my next post, according to my blog statistics, will be my 300th. Since I have managed to let two Blog Anniversaries sail right by me (it is in July), I am going to make the 300th post count. I think there shall be some giveaways, it’s about time I did a blog contest! So, stay tuned. And I hope your Thursday is a knit-worth one.

18 Comments

Filed under lace, shawls