Daily Archives: January 15, 2009

Just a bit late

I’ll admit that I wasn’t going to do a 2008 Roundup because I felt like I’d missed that window right in the first week of January. But then I realized that I couldn’t start my 2009 ‘Finished Objects’ sidebar until I cleared out the one from 2008. So, here we go on January 15th! A quick 2008 in review.

Photobucket

I did several pairs of socks, but my favourites have got to be the Noro striped knee-highs. I’ve been wearing them this week under my pants as a warm shield against the cold, and this makes me want to do more of them. Even if the world doesn’t see them it gives me ultimate warm fuzzies to know that underneath my semi-professional exterior lies a pair of knee highs in all the colours of the Noro universe. I also completed 3 pairs of Jaywalkers in Lorna’s Laces and would like to do more of those in 2009. They’ve become my favourite travel knitting and in my long term goals I would like to have a pair for every day of the week.

The socks:

*Monkey socks, Socks That Rock ‘Rooster Rock’
*Ribbed Socks, in Colinette Jitterbug, ‘Fruit Coulis’
*Rib and Cable Socks (Interweave Knits, Fall 2005, in Mountain Colors Bearfoot
*Stockinette Knee Socks, in Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks that Rock – Mediumweight, in ‘Garnet Dreams’
*Jaywalkers, by Grumperina, in Lorna’s Laces ‘Tahoe’
*Basic Socks, 3×1 rib, in Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks That Rock Lightweight (chapman springs)
*Basic Socks (men’s) for my grandfather, in Knit Picks Essential (navy)
*Masonic Socks, in Dream in Color Smooshy (Gothic rose)
*Basic Socks, 3×1 rib, in Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks That Rock Lightweight (Jail House Rock)
*Noro Knee Highs, in Kureyon Sock (colourways #40 and #188 )
*Coleen socks, pattern from Sweet Sheep Sock Club 2007, in Socks That Rock – Medium Weight (colourway Peacock)
*Jaywalker socks, in Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock (colourway Irving Park)
*So Simple Silk Garden socks, in Noro Silk Garden Sock (colourway S84)
*Primavera Socks, in Madeleinetosh Sock (violas colourway)
*Jaywalker socks, in Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock (Pilsen colourway)
*Basic socks, in Knit Picks Essential Kettle Dye (2 pairs for gifts)

Photobucket

The sweater I am most proud of is the Venezia pullover. I loved knitting it almost more than I love wearing it. It seems strange that I now just throw it on as a warm layer when it took so many colours and intricate stitches. It’s a funny old business, knitting. More recently, though, the Hourglass Pullover in the pink Malabrigo and the Cabled Swing Cardi in the brown Ultra Alpaca are probably the two that are getting the most action. I wear them every week now that it’s cool, and they are both so versatile.

All the sweaters:
*Ivy League Vest (by Eunny Jang for Interweave Knits), in Knit Picks Palette
*Ribby Cardi (by Bonne Marie Burns), in Briggs & Little Regal, ‘Grape’ and ‘Red BWO’
*Venezia pullover, Interweave Knits Winter 2006, in Knit Picks Palette
*Glowing, by Fiona Ellis in ‘Inspired Fair Isle Knits’, in Mission Falls 1824 Wool (raspberry and others)
*Halcyon, from ‘A Fine Fleece’ by Lisa Lloyd, in Briggs & Little Regal
*Hourglass Sweater, pattern from ‘Last Minute Knitted Gifts’ by Joelle Haverson, in Malabrigo worsted (colourway Holly Hock)
*Cabled Swing Cardi, pattern by Norah Gaughan in The Knitter’s Book of yarn, in Berrocco Ultra Alpaca (Lobster Mix)
*Twist, pattern by Bonne Marie Burns, in Wild Apple Hill Farm 2-ply wool

Photobucket

I got more into the accessories and bitty things this past year, and also did a couple of shawls which was new for me. I was very happy with my 2 Forest Canopy shawls and in 2009 I have got to tackle some of this laceweight yarn I’ve got sitting around. Real lace shawls for 2009! I also have to say that the little cat toys may possibly be the most well-loved of all the things I made in 2008. The little mice take turns being the favourites in their kitty household. I should make more.

The ‘other stuff’ of 2008:

*Korknisse, the California set*An Unoriginal Hat, in Briggs & Little Super, lilac
*Maine Morning Mitts, by Clara Parkes, in Noro Silk Garden #228
*Forest Canopy Shawl, in Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks That Rock Mediumweight (Jasper, 2 skeins)
*Clapotis, pattern by Kate Gilbert, in Colinette Jitterbug (Gaugin colourway)
*Maine Morning Mitts #2, pattern by Clara Parkes in The Knitter’s Book of Yarn, in Noro Silk Garden
*Basic hat, in Briggs & Little Super
*Striped gloves, using Patons booklet #1159, in Patons Classic Merino (Petal Pink and Chestnut Brown)
*Garter stitch scarf, in Noro Silk Garden Sock
*Norwegian Star Earflap hat (Ravelry link), by Tiennie, in Patons Classic Merino
*2008 Korknisse set
*Herringbone mittens, gift for my aunt, Patons Classic Merino
*Gift cowl for my grandfather, Mission Falls 1824 wool, 3 x 2 ribbing.

That’s 17 pairs of socks, 8 sweaters (I can do better in 2009! Let’s get at least 10!), and over 35 Finished Objects in total. More gift knits than in years past. I can’t help feel as though I’m missing something. I think this is less than I did in 2007 by sheer numbers, but technically I’ve gotten a bit more complex. There is more colourwork and there are more pieces with cabling and lacy things, and a few starts on design work that haven’t seen the light of this blog yet. I need to get my ass back into gear on that.

Onwards to 2009! Best knitting ever is still to come, I am sure.

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized