Daily Archives: January 20, 2009

Yummy Socks

It’s a hand-painted sock-knitter’s world out there, and I’m just living in it. Or so it seems, a lot of the time. And while I have my own little stash of hand-painted and hand-dyed sock yarns, it makes it that much more of a relief to be reminded that a person can actually knit quite a decent pair of socks for less than $20.

This new finished pair speaks the truth – a lovely comfy and sturdy pair from Fibra natura Yummy in what I believe is the Raspberry Mocha colourway (in a basic 3×1 ribbing which has become my fall-back sock pattern lately). This is a pot-dyed yarn with the swooshy-mottled colour consistency reminiscent of hand-painted yarns, but with a tight twist and sturdy texture more like Patons Kroy Socks. For me, this is a good thing. I’m telling you, once you feel the twist on this stuff…I’ll just say I’ll be surprised if this doesn’t wear extremely well.

Photobucket

I have another skein of this in the Sangria (both courtesy of the Purple Purl…someone should really go back there and buy all the Grapesicle purple skeins before I succumb even more), and I’m happy to knit another. As long as they keep on expanding the colour line I don’t see why this yarn shouldn’t be a popular seller. Lisa is using hers in a pair of gloves and is already planning a second pair, which tells me the attraction can’t just be a figment of my imagination.

And now…I need a new pair of socks to cast on. Decisions, decisions!

6 Comments

Filed under finished object: socks, yarn review