Daily Archives: March 4, 2009

The Next Sweater

I think one of the unsung benefits of knitting is that it helps you practice decision-making skills. Most of the day in our non-knitting lives we have to make a lot of decisions, often very quickly, many of which we don’t actually have a personal interest in. But when you sit down to choose your next sweater you have to make about a bazillion choices (or, at the very least, two or three) right off the top: Which pattern? Which yarn? Which size? Should I swatch? Should I modify it? Should I make it for a special occasion? What if it doesn’t turn out, then what will I do with it?

Photobucket

All this is just my way of saying at the moment I am deciding between two sweaters for my Next Sweater: Bonnie, and the Climbing Vines Pullover (holla, Winter 2008 IK). I’m delaying this decision because, well, the anticipation is actually sort of enjoyable. There is no pressure in either direction and I’ve got the yarn for both. I’ve even swatched for both, take that knitting fates!

Photobucket

The dark purple Mission Falls 1824 wool is part of my stash that’s been there for a year now, thanks to a sale last winter. I went looking for ideas on what to do with it and that’s when I found Bonnie. I love how deep and dark it is, and even on a sweater with a lot of cables, I think it would do fine. And Fiona Ellis does know her way around some Mission Falls, and (HAH!) my gauge is perfect.

As for the Climbing Vines Pullover, I admittedly hadn’t even considered it until I went browsing on Ravelry and saw all the nice dark and mottled versions of it. I think what made it escape my notice in the magazine was quite simply the sample colour, so pale and washed out. But in the blue lagoon Dream in Color Classy? And only 5 skeins for a sweater? Yes please.

In the end, it may all come down to which one my brain chooses tonight when I get home and sack out. Further bulletins as events occur, so stay tuned.

Keep the knitting close by!

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized