Daily Archives: March 30, 2009

Two for two

In my head, I’ve totally been participating in the NaKnitSweMoDo (or whatever it’s called when you pledge to knit a sweater a month for a year), but so far the 3rd month of the year is coming to an end and I have only finished two sweaters. Oh well. Hope springs eternal, yes?

This is also my second from last Winter’s Interweave Knits – the Climbing Vines Pullover by Joelle Meier Rioux. I call it a win.

Photobucket

Sadly the late-March weather has been giving a lot of clouds and not quite as much outdoor photoshoot light as one might prefer, and some of the best shots came out slightly blurry. Perhaps fittingly so, given that the yarn is Dream in Color Classy ‘Blue Lagoon’, and it certainly does have an ‘underwater’ look about it.

Photobucket

I’m happy with the ease on this, I worked it for about 2 inches of positive ease and it fits comfortably. I did add about 1.5 ins of length overall and wish now that I’d added about an inch more, but I’ll live. It’s comfortable, relatively fitted, and I can happily go out into the world in it this spring. Tall girls, take note – definitely one for the modifications. Another thing I will note about the pattern is that the sleeves are quite snug. If I were to do it again I’d add 4-6 sts at the beginning of the cuff and adjust from there. The 3/4 sleeves are great for spring but are less accommodating around the muscles of your arms when they hit mid-forearm.

The Dream in Color is designed to prevent pooling, however between skeins there was the occasional variation in colour and consistency, so I alternated skeins every 2-3 rows while working the body. I still ended up with a bit of flashing, as you’ll note from the pictures above, but at least it’s an overall effect. You can see an example of this on the shoulder, where the top 2 inches were done in a new skein, and the colour changed obviously.

Photobucket

Because this was mostly stockinette, I was able to work through it pretty quickly during my evening knitting time, and the actual knitting only took me 15 days. Now I am left with the decision, once again, as to which sweater to make next. Naturally this means that I have since cast on 2 new pairs of socks and one shawl, but no new sweater yet. Stay tuned as further news bulletins occur on that front.

And finally, I am really looking forward to a bit of rest in a few weeks when the term comes to an end, as I have once again picked up the current variation of viral plague circulating throughout Ontario, and would very much like to stop coughing some time soon. Thankfully the new Sock Summit website is up to distract me, my plane ticket to Portland is now booked for August, and Rebecca and I are already plotting. How soon is August? Can it be August now?

At least April will be here soon. I see lace knitting in my future.

Keep the knitting close by!

38 Comments

Filed under finished object: sweater