An interruption

So, as it turns out, knitting half of a fingering-weight fair isle sweater in 10 days will give you a bit of burnout. (Hands up, everyone who’s surprised). By Tuesday morning as I was rounding the final stretch of the first sleeve, my just-one-more-row-itis was waning and my arms said O hai there we are sore so I had to pause on Autumn Rose for a few days. In the meantime I have had a fair amount of thought space freed up for twitchy self-doubt such as

a) what if, despite swatching efforts, gauge is wrong and it is turning out too snug;

b) what if, despite swatching efforts, colours are all wrong and that clover green shade is too electric to be used as the main shade, or

c) what if I maybe should not have tried to knit half a fingering-weight fair isle sweater in 10 days.

Photobucket

Since I tend to get over bouts of knitting ennui best by working through unfinished projects, I decided to just push through and finish up the Gentleman’s Fancy Socks which have been on my needles for over a month – mostly due to infrequency of knitting.

The pattern is a definitely an attractive and versatile one, and I can see why it is so popular. I would like to knit them again, although with this particular pair I think the gauge turned out more snug than I would like – possibly due to either the nickel-plated 2.0mm DPNs or the thin Schaefer Anne yarn, or some combination of the two. I ended up with enough horizontal stretch on the foot that I needed to add length before starting the toe – lots of yardage on the Schaefer Anne, so no worries there, it was more a matter of time and mental effort to get these suckers done.

Photobucket

I like this yarn and would knit with it again, but will definitely go up at least one needle size, possibly two. There’s enough nylon and mohair in this stuff to make it pretty sturdy on its own, so I think it can handle a slightly drapey gauge. I’m going to look out for it again, possibly for another pair of these same socks.

This makes the 6th pair of finished socks so far for 2009 and dang I’d like to see that number get higher in a hurry. I need to finish at least 4 more before the Sock Summit in order to reach my goal of more finished socks going “out” than my sock yarn purchases coming “in”. I’m also glad to finish these off by this week since next Tuesday I am signed up to take Cat Bordhi’s class at Lettuce Knit in Toronto, and I’m sure that’ll stretch my sock knitting brain in a few new directions.

Now…time to get back to the Autumn Rose for round 2. We’ll see how the pacing goes. Happy Knitting on this Sunday! And Happy Mother’s Day to those out there with kidlets.

23 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

23 responses to “An interruption

  1. Autumn Rose is just breathtakingly gorgeous and no, the view from here that green is Fine! Waay better than Fine and Fine as you know is incredibly great. and 10 days? you’re amazing.
    Gorgeous socks!

  2. Autumn Rose is turning out beautifully and Marianne is right, the green is just fine. :-)

    Also, lovely socks.

  3. Autumn Rose is just stunning! I definitely wouldn’t have it in me — I’m blown away.

  4. McAmy

    Everything is lovely, as always. :D

  5. you don’t need to worry about the colors. they are so beautiful together and the green is wonderful. :)

  6. ooh great socks! I’ve been loving the gentleman’s’ fancy sock pattern on Rav, lots of great FOs. I don’t blame you for taking a little break from Autumn Rose, but I’m sure you’ll find that when you pick it up again, it’s going to be great! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you that you have no sizing issues!

  7. You are killing me dead over here. My needles haven’t even arrived for swatching. You are totally going to lap me. :)

  8. I cannot believe how much progress you’ve made so quickly. I’m embarking on my first fair isle project and am going so sloooooowww.

  9. ladyoctavia

    Looking amazing!

  10. Ann

    Love the socks & the colors are gorgeous. I have yet to knit this pattern, will have to put it on the list.

  11. I will admit, when you showed the swatches, I thought the some of the colors seemed to contrast too much, but seeing it knitted up it looks wonderful! It is going to look stunning!

  12. jennmoles

    Don’t panic, it is fantastic! And the bright green in the middle of the motif looks like sunshine!! I have been mentally working on Pallett colors for this one…. Sigh.

  13. Mel

    That is fingering weight yarn? My jaw has dropped open and can’t close – you are one fast knitter!

  14. Six pairs of finished socks. Ahhh.

    Also, I think it’s great that you switched from a fingering-weight sweater to fingering-weight socks. :P

  15. I’m still enamoured of the color selection you made – I think you’ll love it when it’s done!

  16. Oh I too think the colours are lovely!

  17. What’s amazing is that you manage to do quality work at the same time as quantity work. Kudos to you.

  18. Liz

    Hey, you finished the socks! You are my knitting goddess rockstar hero, and the wind beneath my needles.

    Also:

    1) I think the green is fine, at least in pictures.

    2) Guess who is totally going to finish her FLS in a reasonable amount of time? Body done; sleeve #1 started. W00t.

  19. That fair isle is absolutely gorgeous! I love how the lighter white/green seems to have a light of it’s own. also, I love knitting things out of fingering weight, but mostly because I live in Austin, TX and almost any other weight causes me to faint from heat.

  20. The green is lovely, and perfectly off-set with the garnet and purples. Assuming you meant for the sweater to read as mostly green? Well, *I* like it anyway!

  21. Terrific writing:D will definitely come back again soon:D

  22. Zylo

    Well, it’s still gorgeous. I think the green is electric in the best sense, seeing how it shows off the other colors while anchoring them. It’s lively without being gaudy. And I commend your effort to get so much headway. I’m the slowest knitter in the world, so I’m a bit astonished on how far you’ve gotten.

  23. I’ll gear this review to 2 kinds of people: current Zune owners that are considering an upgrade, the ones trying to decide in between a Zune and an ipod. (There are other players worth taking into consideration available, like the Sony Walkman X, but I really hope this gives you enough info to create the best decision from the Zune vs players other than the ipod line too.)