Daily Archives: May 26, 2009

Phew

I’ve got enough superstition in me that I hesitated to post this logo on my sidebar, until now.

Photobucket

I am going. I am registered. Bring on the sock knitting insanity. BRING ON THE MARKETPLACE. Bring on Portland in August! I am going and so is my Rhinebeck partner in crime Rebecca, and we are filled with much glee.

Today unleashed the insane frenzy known as “Sock Summit Registration”. I have the feeling that Stephanie and Tina are holding on by the hair of their chinny chin chins right about now, as the process of thousands of knitters trying to log on and register simultaneously was predictably chaotic! Heck, I’m feeling a bit shaky right now after waiting out the server timeouts and patiently clicking and waiting, so I can only imagine what the organizers are going through. I know there are many out there with a few sorrows right now at having missed their desired classes as things filled up at lightning speed, but I hope that once the dust settles things will move forward with all the joy and anticipation that goes along with such an enormous event as this one is sure to be. I have nothing but sympathy for those who didn’t get the classes they wanted, and can only imagine the heartbreak of wanting to attend this event and being disappointed.

Serious, serious props (and cake and beer and chocolate and maybe some poutine) go out to Stephanie and Tina and all of their team-members for their organizational efforts with this – I know they have been in for a world of stress getting this off the ground and that it is taking the energy of many committee members to operate the Sock Summit. I have never ever attended a convention that had this many people salivating at the registration opening quite like this. It is a testament, yet again, to what happens when the passion of knitters is released en masse!

What will I be taking? Well, I am pleased to have gotten two of my first choices – Beaded Cables with Sivia Harding, and Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Wearable Art Stockings with Meg Swansen. I also managed to get Paint Your Toes (stranded colourwork) and Arch-Shaped Socks (also with Meg). It looks like I am in for a whole lot of colour-work sock knitting (hands up, anyone who’s surprised), and I am thrilled to be learning more about beaded knitting from one of the bonafide experts in the field.

Now, is it too soon to start my Sock Summit homework? Hmm…

14 Comments

Filed under sock summit