Daily Archives: May 31, 2009

Hey look, I found knitters

It’s been an odd week. I’ve been getting over annoying allergies (plugged nose then irritated throat leading to cough spasms…mercifully clearing up now), working on miscellaneous thing, feeling ambivalent about my knitting (better now that I’ve finished a pair of socks and can move on to something new), spent the last couple of days in Ottawa and am now back in Toronto for a week, with some friendly kitty cats once again.

In trying to get a booking into the campus residences for the conference (a rather big one) and receiving no word whatsoever and despairing about shelling out for an overpriced downtown hotel, I sent a distress call to my friend Kelly who is now in St. John’s but did her degree at Carleton and I was hoping still had friends in the area of downtown Ottawa, who then connected me with Nancy, who is an awesome knitter and as it turns out is also friends with Lisa, whose Toronto house I am now staying in for the week. Dig that, huh? Knitters with the ‘small world’ award.

Photobucket

So I arrived in Ottawa on Thursday, got myself all registered and conferenced-up, and got back to Nancy’s for dinner and a pretty great knitter’s night. She had put out the Batsignal to her local knitting friends and we had a fun night of knitting and chatter. Of course, I was too busy relaxing to remember to take pictures, but I did snag this nice one of Nancy and Linda post-conference on Saturday. They took me to the pub before sending me back on the train to Toronto and we knitted over beers, like you do.

They even came to watch my presentation, which was the nicest moral support. (I talked about knitting in public…first steps and figuring out if I can write a paper on this – hooray for knitting life and real life co-existing). But at the conference book fair I also encountered Jo, who was hosting a booth for her research support company, and wearing a pretty kick-ass Peacock Feathers Shawl.

Photobucket

(Note to self: knit this shawl. Note to all booth holders at conferences: wear knitted things to attract visitors). So let that be an awesome reminder of the fact that knitters are indeed everywhere, and are quite successfully making the world better one step at a time.

And just a reminder to anyone who might be interested – the TTC Knitalong is this coming Saturday June 6th, in Toronto, and there is still room on the West and North teams. Register today and come on out and join us for a day of travelling the city and knitting together.

Guess it’s time to get a new week started yes? Time to get knitting.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized