Daily Archives: July 16, 2009

Look at me go

In exactly 3 weeks’ time, I will be sitting in the first of my classes at Sock Summit. This is equal parts exciting (knitters! yarn! classes! Portland! shopping! more yarn!) and terrifying (OMG when I come back from it the summer will be nearly over; also I have stuff to DO before then…) but mostly I think I’ll be so glad to have a fun trip with knitters as company. Naturally even those of us mere participants still have some prep to do, in the form of homework for our classes, which sadly I don’t think I can put off any longer.

Of the 4 classes I am taking, 2 have non-knitting homework (pre-prep to knitting), and 2 have actual knitting homework (knitting a part of a sock before class). The one that is the most involved is knitting the entire leg of a knee-high sock for the ‘Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Wearable Art’ class with Meg Swansen and Amy Detjen (the more complex arch and heel shaping is taught in the class itself). I’m totally whipping ahead. I mean, just look at how far I’ve gotten. It’s practically done already!

Photobucket

Err, so maybe not ‘practically done’ so much as ‘just started’, but still, it’s good to be moving in the right direction. I’ve chosen Briggs & Little sportweight which is extremely wooly and therefore a bit rustic and scratchy, but I sort of like that quality sometimes and I wanted to choose a bit differently from the normal squishy-soft sock yarns I use most. This is a single-spun yarn which makes it less ideal for stranded colour-work, so I chose the simpler motif to just let the yarn speak for itself.

Since I’ve totally got those wearable art stockings in the bag (maybe), I decided to tackle the homework for Sivia Harding’s ‘Beaded Cables’ class, which involved stringing 120 beads onto the yarn. (The yarn is Tanis Fiber Arts DK, in ‘Moss’.)

Photobucket

Now, just because it only took me half an hour does not make me any less triumphant. I am more than 25% finished my Sock Summit homework with 3 weeks still to go. Phew. This calls for a break. (Don’t want to stress myself out all at once).

6 Comments

Filed under sock summit, socks