Daily Archives: July 17, 2009

Stripe that sucker

The striped knee-high socks are coming along beautifully. I love them. Betcha can’t knit just one stripe…Or even just two or three…

Photobucket

This yarn, as many of you have inquired, is the Sweet Sheep‘s own line of sock yarn. The green is ‘shamrock’, and has been in my stash for almost two years, from a sock club shipment, and the purple is ‘joker’, which came from my purchases at her booth at the Kitchener-Waterloo Knitter’s Fair last September. The black is Malabrigo Sock (in ‘black’), and is truly one of the few black sock yarns I was able to track down.

These stripes have been in my head for quite a while. Ever since I got the ‘shamrock’ green I knew it would be a challenge for me. Discounting yellow, this is probably the colour I am least likely to ever knit with, and I struggled with what to do with it. Michelle even (extremely kindly) offered to over-dye it for me, but in the end when I saw her purple ‘joker’ shade I knew the green had found its destiny: stripes.

Photobucket

Stripes truly are magical, they are the simplest possible way to combine colours and bring visual appeal to your knitting. Plus, they are a little bit addictive. It’s the same sort of ‘just one more row’ syndrome that you often get from fair isle knitting, only without the stranded work. For quite a while I avoided stripes, assuming that they would be boring or too horizontal to ever look good, but I have concluded that, as with many other techniques, it is just a matter of finding the right way to use them. The 4-2-4-2 repeat of the green-black-purple-black really soothes out the electric green shade and makes it look pretty darned cool.

I can’t wait to have the finished pair. Which is good, because my brain is still filling up with all manner of things I want to knit, and I still only have one pair of hands. If anyone finds a way around that problem, be sure t let me know.

Have a great weekend, and keep the knitting close by!

30 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized