Daily Archives: November 14, 2009

Knitting right along

Allow me to say how wonderful it was to read all of your comments on the Mulled Wine Mitts post from a few days ago. I’ve never received so many on a single post before and I am greatly touched and flattered.

And, just as important, I am pleased to announce the three winners of the Canadian Living December issue! I pulled 3 numbers from a Random Number Generator online and those corresponded to comments made (after I indicated the drawing on Wednesday’s post) by Susan from North Carolina, Marianne from Oklahoma, and Ali from Perthshire, Scotland. All 3 lucky knitters have been contacted for their addresses and I’ll be putting the mags in the mail some time next week. For everyone else not in Canada, I will definitely let you know asap if/when the pattern becomes available in any other format. Thank you so much again for your response to the pattern!

I hope your weekend is enjoyable. I’ve got a bit of knitting planned for mine, of course. This week I started two new projects, both interestingly enough in the green-blue-purple spectrum. Clearly my colour jag tendencies have circled back around to the wintery tones, as this Ultra Alpaca scarf can testify.

Nov14-Scarf2

I’m working with the simplicity of stripes on this one, having cast on 80 sts in the round, and alternating colours every 3-7 rounds as I please. I’m using 5 different shades in the hopes of getting a finished scarf that looks polished and slightly colourful, but also versatile enough to match different hats and mittens. And I want it to be long enough to wrap around my neck and shoulders and head approximately 3 zillion times, so we’ll see how that goes.

Happy Saturday!

12 Comments

Filed under accessories