I think I’ll try defying gravity

It’s official folks, kits for the ‘Wicked’ and ‘Yellow Brick Road’ knee-high socks are now available for pre-order exclusively at The Sweet Sheep (scroll down). Michelle has been dyeing her heart out to get these ready to ship starting December 1st, and I hope you’ll enjoy them.

Nov1-YBR6

Each kit comes with 3 skeins of Sweet Sheep Tight Twist fingering weight, hand-dyed for these two Oz-inspired colourways. (Though I can tell you – wink wink, nudge nudge) that Michelle is not intending to stop at just two. More dyeing efforts are underway. Each kit also comes with my pattern instructions for working the knee-highs with shaping to fit legs with an upper calf circumference of between 13-18 ins. (I, incidentally, fit into the 14-15 ins calf circumference area, so that puts me about in the middle). I include several tips for achieving best fit with knee-highs: as there is absolutely no way of writing a “one-size-fits-all” knee-high pattern, many of these are guidelines that use my pattern sizing as a baseline for indicating places where modification may be likely. Know your body, and knit accordingly.

There is something classic and nostalgic about striped knee-highs that I just love, especially when combined with colours reminiscent of two of the most iconic female fictional characters of the past century. Especially with re-tellings of the Wizard of Oz through the novel Wicked and its musical adaptation, both Dorothy and the Wicked Witch of the West are alive and well in the modern imagination and each have more to their story than it may seem at first glance.

Aug3-Wicked1

I love both of these colour combinations, and I think Michelle has done a fabulous job developing relatively single-tone semi-solids which appear slightly mottled, as this really gives the stripes a velvety, textured appearance. The Yellow Brick Road set practically screams gingham and cornfields, and the Wicked set is completely unapologetic and stubborn. Which way do you want to knit your way through these stories?

As for me today, I’m at home for once and I think I have some knitting to do. Just ignore the rian clouds, lalalalaa. Happy Thursday!

12 Comments

Filed under design, knee socks

12 responses to “I think I’ll try defying gravity

  1. Adriana

    Such gorgeous socks! However, I would like to complain that now I’m going to have that song in my head for the rest of the day :P

  2. Hmm…I’m going to hope for a Red Hat combo!
    *wink*

  3. Barb

    I want to see a Glinda the Good Witch colorway! :>)

  4. KmlSeattle

    Love the socks! But, please tell me about those shoes!

  5. Anne

    LOVE the Wicked colorway. But of course, you knew that way back in August at Sock Summit! ;^)

  6. LadyO

    Love the socks!

    As always, you rock.

  7. Sara

    This post makes me want to read Wicked again… :)

  8. That green and purple is awesome!

  9. Unapologetic and stubborn. Sounds right to me! And very very awesome.

  10. If we are requesting colorways, I’d like to see Poppies! :) (Red, orange, and black, anyone?)

    Those “Wicked” knee socks are still just, well, *wicked*. *grin* SO awesome for both you and Michelle!

  11. They’re great! I’m still trying to get my head around really long socks though (Emma’s looking over my shoulder lustily eyeing the wicked ones).

  12. Ann

    The socks look great. I love the colors but I have never knitted knee high socks before.