Daily Archives: December 24, 2009

Nothing says happy holidays like manual labour

So it turns out that when you go from a few weeks of only an hour or so of knitting per day, to a couple of days in a row of knitting in the morning, afternoon, and evening, your arms and wrists and shoulders will respond with “HEY WAIT A MINUTE. OUCH, MAN.” To wit, I’ve been going pretty hard on the Tibetan Dreams stole for the past couple of todays, and it is starting to catch up to me.

Dec24-TibetanDreams4

A while ago, back when I still had fantasties of completing more than one knitted gift, I also had fantasies of having this finished to wear on Christmas Eve. I estimate that at an efficient pace, this stole still has about 8 hours left of knitting in it, so that fantasy is falling hard to earth right about now. I still can’t wait to finish it, though, to see what happens to it after blocking.

Dec24-TibetanDreams

The yarn is gorgeous (Tanis Fiber Arts fingering, in ‘deep sea’), the beads are just right (silver-lined blue size 6 seed beads, thanks Arton beads on Queen St.), and I am looking forward to having one last grand finished object for 2009. Perhaps this is what I’ll be finishing off on Christmas day. I do promise to reduce my knitting hours today, though, so that my right shoulder doesn’t stage a revolt on me.

So instead I’ll switch to other forms of manual labour. Rum balls and other Christmas Eve treats aren’t going to bake themselves.

Dec24-Baking

Whatever your holiday looks like, I hope it’s a good one and that you have some time for knitting and whatever form of relaxation you like. I’ll have a rum ball for you!

15 Comments

Filed under lace