Now to find a place to wear it

As it turns out, I finished my Tibetan Dreams stole at the end of December, one of the last finished objects of 2009. And then I realized that a lace stole is probably the least optimal knitted object to finish in the middle of winter, because then you realize you need to photograph it and any outdoor shots of you frolicking with the finished shawl draped elegantly around your shoulders are really really not going to happen in -10C temperatures. So I’ve been waiting for the opportune moment.

Happily, Lisa invited me out to the big city yesterday afternoon, for high tea at the Knit Cafe. (They do this once a month, and it is well worth it. Book in advance.) And after our tea there was a bit of a lull, and their front window was temporarily empty, and I got Lisa to snap a few pictures. (Thankfully, the Knit Cafe people did not seem to mind me draping a shawl all over their empty shop window.) I am extremely grateful. Check it out, man:

Jan10-TibetanDreams2

Jan10-TibetanDreams12

Pattern: Tibetan Dreams stole, by Sivia Harding in ‘The Knitter’s Book of Wool.’
Yarn:
Tanis Fiber Arts fingering weight, in Deep Sea
Cast on: November 29, 2009
Cast off: December 27, 2009
Needles: 4.0 mm (one size up from the specs – in retrospect I could have probably done fine with the indicated 3.75mm, as the final stole turned out slightly longer than I might have liked. This is when being tall pays off.)
Notes: Can you knit a beaded stole in a month? Answer: yes, but only if you don’t knit much else, and are clinging to the project as a lifeline in the midst of grading hell. I made no modifications whatsoever to the pattern. There are, however, a few minor errata that slipped through the chart publication cracks, so do look those up before you begin this project.

Jan10-TibetanDreams9

Jan10-TibetanDreams4

This is certainly a challenging project, well beyond beginner-basic lace, but is also a skills-building project. The lace pattern on the edges is a 20-row repeat, which will definitely ask you to step up your concentration. The central panel (worked first), also asks you to pay attention to your chart-reading skills, but I found it enjoyable to tick off the rounds one at a time as the mandala pattern blooms outwards.

Working with beads is still relatively new for me, but it didn’t take long to get the hang of it – in this case the beads are applied with the use of a (0.60mm) crochet hook, on specific stitches. They are spaced out just far enough to keep a bit of interest while knitting, but not to overwhelm the shawl with a huge amount of weight. The final effect is drapey and elegant, and I’m happy with my selection of beads that are coloured similarly to the yarn.

Jan10-TibetanDreams10

Allow me to assure you as well, dear blog readers, that just in case you think beauty is the same as perfection, then keep on walkin’. There are a couple of places in the edges in particular where I goofed up big time and just fudged it to make it work, and changed my stitch marker placement so that it didn’t happen again on the next repeat. (I got better). Now, I would probably have to look very very hard to find that same section with the error. I am pretty okay with this. (A good reminder in general, I feel.)

Jan10-TibetanDreams3

Jan10-TibetanDreams6

Sivia Harding, if I didn’t know for a fact what an awesomely nice person you are, I would think you were an evil genius. Thanks for the great pattern.

So what are you waiting for? Go out and knit yourself some badass beaded lace. Best time ever.

33 Comments

Filed under beads, fearless knitting, finished object: shawl, lace

33 responses to “Now to find a place to wear it

  1. Wow, that’s gorgeous. I can’t believe you did it in a month, either. Amazing.

  2. It’s absolutely gorgeous!

  3. ladyoctavia

    It is gorgeous! (And once I finish the badass-beaded-lace-shawl I’ve been working on since 2008… I want to knit this one….)

    Winter photographing of lace is difficult, though sun on snow can make a nice background for shawl pictures…

  4. Amazing! Balancing charts and needles and yarn is enough to make my brain hurt… throw in beads and my head might explode. I’m not sure I’m there yet… but you are making me very curious to try! Awesome job Glenna.

  5. That is really, really gorgeous. You should be proud of yourself!

  6. Ina

    Amazing. Gorgeous. Beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

  7. Susan

    Gorgeous! Love the color.

  8. Utterly stunning, for sure! And the colour- drop dead gorgeous.

  9. Mary Ellen

    Beautiful! Gorgeous! Amazing! LOVE!

    This stole is on my list for 2010. Now I need to pick out yarn and beads. I just feel in love with it when I saw the original one at Stitches East.

  10. Wow. Really gorgeous!

  11. Hey Glenna, you can think me an evil genius if you want.. heh heh.

    Seriously, I love your version of this stole. It is gorgeous.. wear it well! It suits you!!!

  12. Barb

    Gorgeous, as your work always is (minor mishaps or not)! I think this might be my summer shawl challenge this year. I’m doing beaded socks right now, and it’s my first time knitting with beads, and I think I’m hooked :)

  13. What a lovely shawl. I’m with you on the problem solving tactics.

  14. Moggle

    Fab-you-luss!

  15. Helen

    That is beautiful! Wow!

  16. Anne

    Really lovely, Glenna. I hope you are using it to keep yourself warm during this arctic winter we all seem to be suffering through!

  17. jane

    That is incredible – especially since you knitted it in a month! I made my favourite knitted socks from Tanis Fiber Arts yarn, so good choice on that front! :) I love the way the beads look – I’ve never knitted with them myself …. yet…..! :)

  18. may

    super nice finish and so quick! Congrats.

  19. Maureen

    Amazing…and at the end of a semester!!! Did you sleep even for a second??? Beautiful color…you look absolutely gorgeous! I think I’ve finally been seduced to try beads on a lace shawl/scarf! Glenna, you also, are an evil genius! :)

  20. That is stupendously gorgeous. I love it!

    I’m thinking of a smaller Sivia project for my first beaded lace. Fear of commitment, right?!

  21. That looks amazing! I am tempted to knit some crazy lace now. Oh wait, I have some on the needles… I omitted the beads but maybe next lace project I’ll try them. Beautiful blue!

  22. Beautiful shawl. Thank you for pointing out the difference between beauty and perfection being different ideas. I’m going to write that down in my knitting projects notebook.

  23. Ina

    Oh, my God, Glenna, it’s amazing! You’re so talanted!

  24. I’m delighted to hear that I’m not the only one who finishes up projects in the very season they can’t be worn. But hey, it won’t be long until spring and when it comes you’ll be all prepared with your exquisite new shawl. I am in awe of your speed on this one. Lovely pictures too — thanks for sharing!

  25. Oh oh oh! The pretty! It’s so beautiful I can hardly bear to look at it.

  26. Kai

    Gorgeous! And the colour suits you perfectly. :)

  27. Breathtakingly beautiful! And I second what you jokingly say about Sivia being an evil genius. OK, so she may actually be the antithesis of all that is evil in this world, she’s still very much a genius. With gorgeous curly hair I know many of us long to spin. :-)

  28. That is absolutely stunning! The color is perfect.

  29. Beautiful! I think the pattern and color choice are so lovely….

  30. Pingback: Gateway « Knitting to Stay Sane