A good old sock

At the tail end of 2009 I managed to cram in several finished objects in quick succession, so I suppose it is only fitting that the first finished objects of 2010 have been rather slow to reel in. I finished my Noro striped scarf and have been wearing it happily, but a week ago I finally finished the first pair of socks I’ve cast on this year. It’s actually been a few months since I’ve had a new pair of socks to add to my drawer, and they are pleasantly comfy.

Feb20-Charade2

These are the ‘Charade’ socks (pattern is currently, as far as I can tell, only available as a free Ravelry download – original web page seems to be non-existent), done up in Tanis Fiber Arts fingering weight in one of her new variegated colourways. This one is ‘rhythm’, and is suitably modest enough to go with my everyday wardrobe, which is what I was going for.

Feb20-Charade3

It’s a pretty easy pattern, and one that would look decent with either semi-solids or variegateds. The stitch pattern is slightly more snug than normal stockinette, so apply your knowledge of gauge and foot size accordingly. I do find, though, that while it’s an easy pattern and I like the way it looks, and I’ll probably knit it again at some time, it’s one of those sorts of patterns that requires just enough brain energy to make me weary of it after a while. So for my next in-the-handbag sock I’ve pulled a skein of Socks That Rock from the stash for a plain old 3×1 ribbed sock. (My standby sock approach, in the absence of Lorna’s Laces knitted into Jaywalkers, as is my want).

Feb20-STR

Me and Socks that Rock, though, we always have the pooling. It’s almost comforting, that I can count on that happening every time. Swooshy colourful socks, here we come.

Happy weekend knitting!

16 Comments

Filed under finished object: socks

16 responses to “A good old sock

  1. Anne

    I knit some semi-solid Charades a few years back and LOVE them. I do remember it becoming a bit tedious by the end, but have been thinking a lot about making another pair of Charades.

    Love the swirling on the STR!

  2. Yep. There’s something comforting in knowing what to expect. Sometimes, that’s all I need in a sock. Yours are really pretty.

  3. Ooh, pretty! Am I the only one that thinks pooling isn’t necessarily a BAD thing?

  4. I think when your pooling turns out that consistent and nifty-looking, it should be called something else…

    Beautiful socks, both of them!

  5. The finished socks look great and the in progress one is lovely as well, looks like good pooling to me.

  6. Val Champ

    I agree that pooling is not a problem, not sure why people don’t like it. So long as the yarn feels nice, that is the main thing. It can pool “till the cows come home”..LOL

  7. ladyoctavia

    I love the spiral pooling on the new sock!

  8. I don’t see any problem with the pooling; it’s working out quite nicely. In general, I don’t mind some pooling. It’s part of the random charm of these yarns!

  9. michael

    wow the rhythm socks look great! i’ve been wondering how it looks as a sock and yours is perfect, great pattern choice :)
    can’t wait to see how the new one knits up
    i’ve never done 3X1 before…is it just pretty or is there another reason it’s your fave?

  10. As everyone previously mentioned, I think the natural color pattern of the sock is turning out beautifully! So much so that I actually NEED to know where you get the Socks that Rock yarn!! I have to make some socks like that :)

  11. McAmy

    Ah, those are both lovely! I am knitting my first sock now, so someday I can make lovely socks! :D

  12. I too really like the look when my yarn pools on socks. It keeps my interest just watching to see what the colors are going to do. :^)

  13. Mickie

    Can you please tell me what stitch you are using on the Socks that Rock in the picture? From where I sit it looks like a small rope next to a bigger rope. I’ve seen this on another website and the knitter says it’s just the regular stockingette stitch, but because of the way she knits, one side of the loop pulls larger than the other and creates the “rope” effect. I also found this in a knitted store sample for lion Brand Microspun, and had passed it around to see if anybody could identify this “stitch” …see it here http://www.flickr.com/photos/mickieswall/4393690544/

  14. It’s a simple knit 3, purl 1 ribbing! Easy to do and looks good with most yarn.

  15. I really like the look of this sock and have just started a pair using the k3, p1 rib. Thanks for sharing.

  16. Love all of the colors!