Daily Archives: October 27, 2010

Staked

I’ve got a design to tell you about, and I’m super thrilled over it. It’s my pattern contribution for the Indigodragonfly ‘Smart-Ass Knitters’ single skein yarn club, and I’ve had it in the works for a while. Because this is a pattern currently exclusive to the club and because not everyone in the club may have received their packages yet, I’ll put up this handy club-approved photo of Otis, the Indigodragonfly Yarns resident dog, to allow for a bit of spoiler space. You can scroll down for the good stuff.

OtisSpoiler

Back at the end of last winter Kim messaged me (on Twitter, not via email, so instantaneous was the need for this discussion apparently) to ask me if I wanted to be involved in the club, and naturally I needed no time to make THAT decision. Then she asked me (I still have this saved) “How would you like to design for a colourway called ‘And then Buffy staked Edward. The end?’” And I believe I said “I think I would feel really really really good about that.”

The colourway name was pretty much all I needed to go on. The “Staked” pattern is the lovely result:

Oct8-Staked6

I do love me some twisty cables, and I thought they were especially appropriate with the vampire-slayer-themed colourway. I went looking for some nice stabby motifs, including one more than a little reminiscent of a stake-through-the-heart. I really love the way it turns out in the dark colourway, it has a subtle but dramatic appearance.

Oct8-Staked4

The cables continue onto the foot but eventually diminish, decreasing symmetrically on each foot until only stockinette (and possibly dust and darkness?) are left behind.

Oct8-Staked5

I love them. I think this is one of my favourite patterns I’ve done so far. Kim’s Merino Sock 2-ply is a wonderful yarn to work with and is also becoming one of my favourite sock yarns.

The only bummer (for you), is that the pattern isn’t yet available outside of the club – but it will be in the spring, and I’ll be sure to let you know about that when it happens. (If you’re interested, signups are still open for the 2nd half of the club, here.) But I just couldn’t resist showing it off!

More to come from me this week – some book reviews on the go, and almost-never-ending Pi Shawl progress.

35 Comments

Filed under design