Daily Archives: December 9, 2010

Hold that thought

Back in September at the Kitchener-Waterloo Knitter’s Fair, I stopped by the Purple Purl booth and had a small falling down in front of the Twinkle Soft Chunky that they had on sale to clear. I had always looked at it longingly in the shop, thinking that “one day” I would just buy a mess of it and whip off a few quick knits for instant gratification. But then I saw I might lose the chance, so I bought five skeins. As one does.

I figured that the time would come when I would want to knit a few chunky things. It turns out that time is now, when the cold has speedily reached negative double digits and already my Berocco Ultra Alpaca beret is just not quite cutting it any more. (Clearly, this winter is not fooling around. Must be making up for last year’s mediocre effort.) I first knitted up a Speedy Cabled Beret, which is now blocking out, and moved on next to a large-ish cowl of generic quality. (I cast on about 76 sts, and am working the whole thing in mistake rib.)

Dec9-TwinkleCowl1

The vast majority of my projects are knit on either fingering weight (socks, gloves, shawls, you know) or worsted weight (sweaters, or hats, or just about anything really), so it’s a rare day when I have to pull out 10mm needles. This is quite a trip. On the one hand, the stitches are huge which means I am making quick progress without even trying, but on the other hand they are clunky and a bit unwieldy in your hands when you’re not used to anything larger than 4.5mm on a normal basis.

So it’s a change of pace if nothing else, which is also what I was going for. In the midst of all my other ongoing projects it feels good to say “STOP. KNIT A HAT. OKAY, CARRY ON. AS YOU WERE.” And winter is most definitely here, so hats and cowls R Us.

Baby, it’s cold outside. Thank you, yarn. I’m glad I have you in my life.

18 Comments

Filed under accessories