Daily Archives: August 10, 2011

The spoils

As challenging as it is to fly west and suddenly find yourself awake and alert at 4am and later prying your eyes open with toothpicks so as to stay up long enough to take advantage of the nice company with your fellow knitter roommates who travelled only within their time zone to get to Sock Summit (lucky Vancouver people), I always find heading east to be a lot harder. The last few days I’ve spent the mornings and evenings in a sort of zombie like state, thus leaving the precious afternoon hours for anything involving actual brain work. (Other than regular knitting I’ve found other playing-with-yarn-on-little-brain-power activities to do, though, more on that later.)

For the first time in a while, though, I didn’t actually have all that much yarn to unpack and put away. My happy little bit of Sock Summit yarn looks like this, minus one skein of Socks That Rock lightweight and some very generous birthday skeins my friends gifted me with.

Aug10-SSyarn

I went looking for slightly heavier skeins this time, opting mostly for Socks That Rock mediumweight and a couple of sport-weight skeins. My STR mediumweight socks I did last winter turned out to be one of my favourites on the cold nights, and I want more sport-weight ribbed socks. Cozy comforts shall be mine!

I also saved back a bit of cash for non-yarn purchases, including my first actual mug from the Jennie the Potter booth. I missed her special Sock Summit ones, but I rather like the sheep on this one. And the mug works and everything, I tested it this morning with a latte, once I remembered how to work the machine and, you know, operate my neural cortex.

Aug10-Mug

But there’s another reason I didn’t bring home as much yarn. And that reason looks like this.

Aug10-Needles

I don’t know what happened. I spent all weekend saying that I didn’t need Signature needles, that my Addis and Knit Picks ones, and my old standby plastic-coated metal DPNs work just FINE, thank you. I didn’t need no stinking fancy Signature needles.

Then my roommates all chipped in together and bought me a set as a birthday present. And I tried them out. Then I went to the Signature booth and bought two more pairs. I regret nothing.

What’s the most fun knitting purchase you’ve made this summer? Even if it’s not at Sock Summit, there’s nothing like having new toys to play with!

26 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized