Daily Archives: September 21, 2011

An emerging plan

Since I apparently don’t have enough to do, and since it’s now a whole 3.5 weeks away from Rhinebeck (HAH that snuck up quickly), I thought it’d be a good time to cast on for a Rhinebeck sweater. I like having something new to wear at Rhinebeck, and I just bought this lovely dark teal green Manos Maxima (a soft single-spun worsted, much like Malabrigo worsted) at the Kitchener-Waterloo Knitter’s Fair and wanted to cast on for something before it sat for too long and became a forgotten part of the stash.

It’s going to be a cardigan, and with a few soft and squishy cables to go with the soft and squishy yarn, but other than that, I don’t have the entire plan nailed down yet. I’m going “off the cuff,” as it were. (Yuk yuk yuk, I kill me.)

Sept21-Cuff

Not sure yet if it’ll have a regular collar or a shawl collar (ooo, shawl collar…), pockets or no pockets (ooo, pockets…) but I DO know what I want the sleeves to do, so I’ll start there. If it all works out nicely, I’ll write it up. And goodness knows it’s finally starting to be sweater weather out there! Which is very exciting. The nice bonus with this is that at 4.5 sts/inch it’s going to work up relatively quickly, so I’ll have a cozy finished knit before too long.

Happy knitting today! May your Wednesday be over quickly and have your preferred refreshment waiting for you at the end of it.

22 Comments

Filed under sweaters