Daily Archives: April 7, 2012

Randomly on a Saturday

Earlier today I started thinking about the fact that the Toronto Knitter’s Frolic is coming up, and so I started pondering all the wonderful yarn-purchasing options that await. And then because I am me, and because my knitting brain has been rotating lately between cables and lace and colour-work and just about any kind of project imaginable, I also started thinking about shopping for colour-work projects and the sort of colour combinations I could look for.

And so naturally, I started to wish I had a portable-sized colour wheel to bring along, in case I needed a colour theory consult at a moment’s notice. (As one does).
And so then I decided, hey, I have a box of 96 Crayola crayons and some index cards in my desk drawer, and I can fix this.

Apr7-Wheel2

I have to say this is a pretty satisfying (and also pretty geeky) way to spend five minutes of your time. You get a wallet-sized colour wheel card to take around with you and feel artistic whenever you want (which, let’s face it, can come upon you in the darndest of places), AND you get to play with crayons, so that’s pretty much a win-win.

And do you know what else I learned? The good folks at Crayola have actually made this process pretty easy. They have crayons labelled with the main 6 red-orange-yellow-green-blue-violet colours, which one might expect and is pretty nice. Filling in the next 6 blended hues, though (such as blue-violet or red-orange), I thought I was going to have to sift through all the other crayons to find the right ones (as for example, is ‘macaroni-and-cheese’ more of a yellow-orange or orange-yellow? And where does ‘razzamatazz’ fit in on the red-violet wedge?), but you know what? The Crayola people have thought of that, too.

Apr7-Wheel3

Apr7-Wheel1

Done and done. I expect before the weekend is over I will be yanking out my yarn and pondering some projects as a result, which would be about par for my knitting brain this week.

Apr7-Wheel4

But you know? Colour is pretty awesome. The end.

.

.

15 Comments

Filed under colour-work