Daily Archives: May 19, 2012

A short list for a long weekend

1. This weekend I have two movie outings with fellow knitters in the offing, and like any good knitters, we all made sure to have movie-appropriate knitting in hand. I started a new 3×1 ribbed sock in a skein of Socks That Rock Mediumweight in the colour ‘Amelie’, which is so red and cheerful I couldn’t keep resisting it on the yarn shelf much longer.

May19-Sock

2. I started this new pair of socks despite having another pair of ribbed Malabrigo socks that have been on the needles since March and still haven’t gotten past the toe of the first sock in the pair. I just needed to look at a different pair of socks for a bit.

3. There was a brief moment earlier this week when I realized that I’m almost done my now-with-full-sleeves Royale pullover, and thought that meant I was going to have a clean slate and could totally start fresh with a new project or five, but then I remembered about the other ribbed socks from March, and the 2/3 done Velvet Morning cardigan, and…I decided I’ll hold off casting on a new thing until Royale is done but THEN I am totally casting on a NEW SHAWL darn it all. A gal can only hold on for so long.

4. Speaking of shawls, I had a question about my Lakeshore shawl pattern and what it’s like to work with silk as compared to wool when working up a shawl. In truth I’m sure we could talk about many differences between wool and silk as fibers, but for me the key difference for shawl projects is how likely you are to be concerned about a dropped stitch. Silk is a very smooth and, well, silky fibre, which means if you drop a stitch you are more likely to have it become a problem much more quickly than if you were working with wool. If you drop a stitch with 100% wool, there’s every likelihood you won’t notice it until you get back to its place in the row, because wool fibers can be sticky enough that the stitches don’t want to unravel very much unless provoked.

For this reason I’m even more a fan of lifelines when working silk shawls than I already would be with wool, particularly when I’m designing a project. I snapped this picture when I was in progress with the Lakeshore shawl – I had had to rip back a section that wasn’t working out, and re-do it, and I managed to miss a couple of stitches from the lifeline. I picked ‘em back up again pretty easily when I got to that place on the shawl, but oooh I shudder to think what might have happened if I hadn’t had that lifeline in place. Or, perhaps the lifeline forgives mishaps more easily in the first place, so your brain allows them to happen more easily, too, who knows.

Lifeline1

In any case: When it comes to shawls, I am a lifeline sort of gal.

5. I’m pleased to announce the entire Urban Collection is now available on Patternfish as an e-book, as well as on Ravelry as it has been.

Have a great weekend! I hope you’ve got lots of fun knitting to work on.
.

.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized