Daily Archives: July 11, 2012

The price of admission

Lately I’ve been in the thick of it behind the scenes here at Knitting to Sane, beavering away on several design projects, and have a couple of weeks to go still before I’m cleared for a bit of respite. I love knitting, I love yarn, I love creative work, and these are all projects that I love and are in really lovely yarn, and this is all of the good. At the same time, it’s work, and like any other kind of work, there are only so many full-tilt days you can string together before your brain starts resisting it. Yesterday morning I put my sliced English muffin in the toaster and didn’t realize until a few minutes later that I hadn’t actually pressed the down-lever to, you know, toast it in the toaster. Then later that afternoon I accidentally forgot my bank card behind at the drug store, but didn’t discover that it was missing until I went to buy a book at lunchtime today. (Executing things like complex knitted cables: check. Executing mundane tasks like eating and shopping:….errr…not so much.)

So today I declared Wednesday to be Saturday and took myself into the big city. I allowed myself the excuse of needing to pick up some things at the Purple Purl (design yarn was waiting for me there, along with a latte and some sitting time), and made a friends date with fellow knitter Lisa, who frequently works doctor weekends and thus is also often to be found taking a Saturday on a Wednesday, and we tra-la-la-ed off for pedicures and afternoon tea. I don’t think I need to tell you, it was delightful. I’ve never actually gotten a pedicure before, and I’ll admit it sort of feels a bit ridiculous to be sitting gaily knitting and chatting next to your friend while people go to work on your feet, but you know…now I’ll have pretty toes to look at when I’m doing all those sun salutations in yoga, and I’ll take it.

July11-Tea

While I’ve been furiously trying to churn out a few deadline projects lately, in the back of my brain I’ve also been baiting myself with the very lovely thought of having a bit of time to myself when I get to knit whatever the heck I want – a project for me, me, me and only me. And it occurred to me a couple of days ago that, actually…I have no idea what that project is going to be.

But then, Lisa and I stopped by Passionknit, post-pedicure, and I suddenly found myself staring at a bunch of Madelinetosh. They had that lovely reddish orange shade called ‘sequoia’, which is a colour I’ve been trying to make friends with lately and is the same colour I used last fall in my Phellogen socks, and before I knew it I was holding a sweater’s worth of it and cashing out. Maybe it’ll be my Rhinebeck sweater this year. I don’t know what sweater yet, exactly, but it’ll be a fun sweater nonetheless.

July11-Madelinetosh

Here’s to having Saturday-on-a-Wednesday, knitter friends. I hope you have some respite of your own in the week ahead, yarn-ish or otherwise!

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized