Another year

Today is my birthday, and while it’s a working knitting day (still finishing up some of those pesky deadline projects), at least it’s a day I get to spend with yarn, and the non-yarn bits have been a bit relaxed so far. I’m planning a full do-whatever-i-want-day sometime next week as recompense for having to use my brain on my birthday – heck, the “have a pedicure then go buy an armload of Madelinetosh” seemed to work well on my day off a few weeks ago, perhaps I’ll repeat that endeavour. Practice does always help matters, after all.

July30-KnitPicks

But speaking of yarn – this morning I discovered that the mail had brought a lovely enormous box of it on my doorstep, from Knit Picks (to be revealed later in knitted object form, if all goes as planned), which I don’t think I have to tell you is a pretty great thing.

Then I had lunch with a friend. It was poutine. (I decided today would finally be the day I tried lobster poutine. It was pretty good but, I concluded, not actually necessary. Regular poutine is still awesome no matter what.

July30-Poutine

Now I am ensconced with my knitting and some cake, with a little new knitting reading to add to my bookshelf courtesy of one of my gifts – not too shabby.

July30-CakeKnitting

Thanks for being out there in internet-land, knitter friends! If I could share my cake with you through the blog, I would.

61 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

61 responses to “Another year

  1. Barbara S

    Happy Birthday! I always enjoy your blog. The poutine looks good. I tried poutine for the first time last year on a visit to Montreal. (I’m in the US) I liked it and the squeaky cheese, but the brown gravy was interesting. Not sure about that. Anyway, I do like cake…enjoy yours!

  2. Mary Jane

    Happy Birthday and here’s to keeping sane :-)

  3. happy birthday!! glad to got to celebrate it with food and yarn!!!
    ^)^linda

  4. Happy Birthday! I enjoy your blog immensely – you have a great sense of humour and a good taste in yarn;-)

  5. Cyd

    You go girl…Happy BDay…eat cake, knit, and be happy!

  6. Happy birthday! Can’t wait to see those new projects :)

  7. Val

    Sounds like a Happy Birthday to me….hope it was a good one Glenna!

  8. Peg Biever

    Happy birthday! What a great way to celebrate……….

  9. Serenova

    Happy Birthday!

    Sounds like it’s a good one, deadlines or no.

  10. Enjoy your day …today, tomorrow, through the year! And, thanks for keeping us all a bit saner!

  11. Happy Birthday! Glad you had such a fab day.. :)

  12. Happy birthday! I have to say lobster poutine sounds amazing, but I think you’re right: the regular kind is pretty darned good…

  13. Happy birthday, sounds like a lovely day!

  14. dfuller55

    Happy birthday! You can have my share of poutine! :-)

  15. Happy birthday from Colorado! Actually it sounds as if it was a wonderful day!!! Love your blog.

  16. Donna

    Happy Birthday from a new knitting in the Western NY area. Happy to have found your blog

  17. Donna

    Meant to say new knitter!!!

  18. Happy birthday! Last year’s birthday seems like such a long time ago. I still miss Sock Summit. And I have to admit, I’ve never had poutine. I just looked it up on Wikipedia, and it looks awesome. Glad you liked yours. Enjoy your cake!

  19. Dee

    Happy Birthday! Yarn and cake is a great combination.

  20. Katy

    Happy Birthday!!

  21. Cathy E

    Happy Birthday!!

  22. 1morerow

    Happy Birthday!

  23. CarylK

    It sounds like you had a wonderful day. and the cake looks yummy :)

  24. Happy Birthday! Someone has great taste in knitting books and cake. That book is a good reference. Enjoy! Be sure to schedule the have a pedicure and an arm load of yarn day too.

  25. Happy Birthday! Take some time off an go buy yourself some yarn… it sounds like you deserve it!

  26. Happy Birthday. It looks like you share the same birthday as my youngest so you have another birthday “twin” that turned 1 today!

    I think your cake looks better than his did!

  27. Katy

    Best birthday wishes!!! :)

  28. Happy Birthday! That poutine looks interesting and I am sure the cake was fabulous. Can’t wait to see what you come up with for the Knit Picks yarn!

  29. I am making a birthday wish for you right now that the coming year brings success, happiness and friendship. Happy birthday!

  30. Happy Birthday!! I really enjoy your blog. Keeps me inspired to keep on learning with my knitting. Knitting and cake sound awesome to me!

  31. Denise McClendon

    Happy Birthday the cake looks delicious :)

  32. Kris

    Happy Birthday,Glenna!

  33. I’m new in these parts, but I’ll definitely be stopping back again and again. Love the idea for a do-whatever-you-want day to make up for a busy birthday, which I hope you very much enjoyed, by the way!

  34. Happy birthday and what better than to receive a box full of yarn on this special day. :)

  35. FoFo

    Happy Birthday!!!!

  36. Happy Birthday! Yarn cakes are the best!

  37. Have a wonderful day! Enjoy the cake and PLEASE let us have a review of the book……..looks amazing! xxx

  38. Sue

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! Damm that cake looks good! I hope it tasted even better!

  39. Happy birthday (late)! I hope you had a wonderful day. Looks like it was pretty magical, with all the tasty-looking food and the Knit Picks goodness at your door :)

  40. Eva

    Happy Birthday!

  41. Michelle B.

    Happy Birthday! I’ll have a cupcake in your honor. A box of assorted yarn sounds like a most awesome present!

  42. Happy Birthday!!! Enjoy your day with yarn – even though it involves some work. I didn’t realize there were different variations on poutine! I had poutine for the first time on a trip to Quebec in 2004 – very unique AND good :-)

  43. Chris

    Happy Birthday! And thanks for your blog – I found it searching for cabling without a needle directions, and have been enjoying it ever since.

  44. liz

    Happy Birthday, Glenna! Thanks for sharing your days with us here on your blog. Wishing you a beautiful year ahead.

  45. Linda B.

    HB2U HB2U HB2 Glllennnnaaaa HB2UUUUUUUUU.
    I took the day off work and did the mani-pedi, haircut thing on my birthday too! What colour is on your toes? ;-)

  46. Poutine is awesome!!!!!!

  47. Doris

    Happy belated birthday! The book looks amazing and I can’t wait to see the FO from you Knit Picks gift.

  48. LauraSue

    Happy July birthday! (I have one, too. I took a spinning class on my birthday.)

  49. A (late) happy birthday to you!

    I’ve been looking into picking up that book for a while and I’m interested to hear your thoughts!

  50. Totally late to the party, but Happy Birthday, Glenna! :D I hope it was good, even though you had to use your brain on it. And that you get a lovely day of do-nothingness later to compensate.

  51. Madge Doty

    Belated birthday wishes for another grand year chock full of friends and yarn and the stitches that keep the two together. Cheers, Glenna!

  52. Anne

    Happy Birthday! See you at Rhinebeck?

  53. Maureen

    Happy birthday! Yarn and lobster are a fabulous way to celebrate! Congratulations!

  54. I’m glad you had a happy birthday! Yaaay, yarn and poutine!

  55. Sharon

    Under the “better late than never” category, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!
    Love your blog – thank you so much for all the pleasure it provides to all of us out here in cyberspace all year long.

  56. Happy belated birthday! I hope to see you soon.