Daily Archives: August 10, 2012

Book Review and Giveaway: Cast On Bind Off

Just last week I was waxing on about the benefits of a well-stocked knitting library, including fabulous reference books, and lo and behold earlier this week a few new things arrived in my book review mailbox. I’m trying very hard not to just hang onto every single book I receive – which can be a challenge, let me tell you, because a lot of them are really awesome – but this one, this one is too great not to give away. I had a lot of fun looking through this little gem, Cast On, Bind Off by Leslie Ann Bestor.

For a little spiral-bound book, this crams in quite a lot of useful information, and in an extremely clear visual style. Yes indeed, this is an entire book devoted to cast-ons and bind-offs (54, to be exact). In case you’re wondering why a person would need this many options, the book tells you exactly that. Each method is presented visually: in swatch form, so you can see what it looks like; and in step-by-step tutorial form, so you can see how to execute it. And each one is presented with a neat description of the edge characteristics and the situation it is useful for. (Example: Cable Cast on provides a firm edge, useful for buttonholes or casting on extra stitches at the end of a row.)

Aug10-BookGiveaway

This is a neat little book and I’d be happy to pass it on to one of you dear readers. If you’d like to be entered to win this book, leave a comment here some time before Monday morning telling me what your current favourite cast-on or bind-off method is, and why! Whether it’s one you just learned or one you’ve been using for years. I’ll post the winner Monday afternoon.

Aug10-TurtlepurlSocks

In the mean time, I’m happy to have some new projects to work away on this weekend, including the striped Turtlepurl socks I started a couple of days ago. I think I’ve just about gotten to the end of an entire striping sequence and can tell now what the colour progression will be. They’ll be fun socks to wear so I’m going to do my best not to let them sit idle for too long, lest they go unknitted and sit in my blind spot in favour of newer things. Fall is coming, after all, and a gal can always use more socks.

Happy weekend, knitting friends!

296 Comments

Filed under book review