Daily Archives: October 15, 2012

Monday is for thinking about knitting

(Sub-heading: I am not entirely sure how this differentiates Monday from all the other days.)

Thank you all so much for your comments about cable knitting in my previous post – many of you commented about how beautiful cables make the knitting look and how smart they make knitters look, even though once you get the hang of them they are not so daunting at all. I’m pleased to announce the giveaway winners of the copy of Canadian Living November 2012 (on news-stands now across Canada) are Sarah K, JoAnne, and Carol, and I’ve emailed them to let them know. Once again thank you for your comments, and I’m sure another giveaway day will be just around the corner!

Screen shot 2012-10-15 at 4.51.54 PM

In the mean time, my Rhinebeck sweater knitting continues and I am aiming to get as much done as I can in the next few days. My originally planned Rhinebeck sweater, aka the orange cabled thing, is just about done – all it needs is for me to cast off the collar and sew on buttons (and first, buy said buttons), and then it will be doneski. The late-added second Rhinebeck sweater, Ravine, still needs a front, half of the back piece, and the finishing, so it’s going to be a snug finish if it happens before the fair on Saturday, but it is still within the realm of possibility. And I will be blessed with about 8 hours of passenger-riding-in-a-car-with-knitting time on Friday, which is pretty much money in the bank for someone with All The Knitting to get done.

Oct15-Ravine

Still, since I’d like to spend some of that time enjoying the scenery and relaxing, I’m not going to lie – I’m still holding out hope this will be done before driving off on Friday. We’ll see what happens, but the awesome thing is I will have the finished orange cabled thing done either way, and whenever the green cabled thing gets done, it’ll be a great fall cabled sweater.

And then I can start planning more cabled sweaters. More cables, more!

Happy Monday, folks! May you have knitting and a refreshing beverage waiting for you this evening.

*

*

20 Comments

Filed under cables, sweaters