Snow Day

Today, basically most of southern Ontario looks like this right now:

Feb8-SnowDay

So, I am working on some of these:

Feb8-Mitts

I’m working on other things too, truth be told, and I have a “want to knit” list about as long as my arm. (Some of which also overlaps with my “want to design” list, which only excruciates the situation further. Soooo many kniiiiiits. Start-itis is rampant.) But my new beret still wants some matching mittens or gloves, so I do what I can. At the very least I feel pretty comfortable expecting that this wintery weather is not planning to leave us any time soon, so there’s still time to get in a few more winter knits and wear them this season.

Now if the handknits could also somehow magically take care of the snow-shovelling, well. That would be a true winter wonderland.

Happy knitting this weekend!

Pattern: Chilly Podster mittens
Yarn: Berocco Ultra Alpaca, in beetroot
Project Bag: A handmade gift from a friend

*

*

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Snow Day

  1. Looks great, but I think it’s well above my skill set level.

  2. O.K, so handknits don’t really take care of the shovelling, but they do help our toes, head, neck and fingers stay warm while doing it! ;-)

  3. Love the colour of the beret, I have a cowl in a similar colour on my needles but no snow…..yet!

  4. Wow! I am jealous of your snow, but definitely not of the shoveling ahead of you. I’d stay in with the lovely Ultra Alpaca too!

  5. caityrosey

    So far the snow has missed us. I’m glad you’re making the most of it.

  6. I love the colour of the mittens. They are definately needed with that weather. Stay warm :-)

  7. I was born in Ontario and loved the colours of the leaves in the Fall but not the snow and bitter cold in the winter. I swear its worse then the cold in Saskatoon.

  8. Holly

    Here in Peterborough we have just as much snow!!! but unfortunately it wasn’t enough this morning to be an excuse to stay home and knit :( But even after shoveling my double wide driveway, I’m loving that we finally have real snow!
    The mitts look like fun. I’m hoping to start a hat for a friend next week in a similar shade!
    Enjoy your snow! it’s a great excuse to knit warm mitts!

  9. Heather

    That’s what my city (Edmonton) looks like all winter long. :P

  10. knitworkedyarns

    Woah… and I’m thinking of moving there?!?! It’s been +9 in Vancouver the past few days! Love the colour of your mittens!

  11. looks great! on this time I was able to stay to work manually one sweater and a fular.My grandmother taught me how to crochet and was still knitting. a good day everyone!

  12. Snow !! Oh how I love snow. It snowed here in NY as well. Its so pretty until the snow plows come around pushing all of the snow on top of the cars, and people put all of their dirty footprints into it.

    I really wish the snow would stay around longer, it’d be excellent to take photos of someone modeling my products with the snowy background, and of course to play in it !

    Oh the to knit list, I have a super duper long to knit/crochet list myself. I kind of think we all do. I also have items I need to write patterns for gosh its so much.

  13. I’m on the east coast, so I guess we’ve got your mess now, LOL. By the way, love the colour of your mitts. :)