Daily Archives: February 11, 2013

You’re never the only one

I spent the last couple of weeks in the company of Julie’s two kitties in Toronto, while she and her family were away. As a result I got a bit more time zipping around on transit, and did a few more things in Toronto than I normally would get the chance to do. Transit time is knitting time, of course, and so I made sure to get a few rows in on my current socks.

One day on the subway I was knitting along and a friendly woman nearby said, “oh good, I thought I was the only one.” I said “oh no, knitters are everywhere.” She pulled out a bit of yarn from her bag and showed me, reporting that she had just had a trip to Romni, and I nodded in understanding. (Romni trips are serious business, man).

Feb7-SubwayKnitting

She saw I was knitting socks and we compared notes on our needle preferences (she likes using the tiny circular needles, I was using DPNs at the time), and I asked her opinion on the yarn color I was using since I was worried it was looking a bit more bubblegum pink than it had while in the skein (she reassured me it did not). And then, it was time for me to get off at my stop and we parted ways.

A few minutes later, the only thing I thought was weird about the encounter was that I forgot to exchange Ravelry names.

Happy knitting this Monday!

Pattern: A Nice Ribbed Sock
Yarn: Sweet Georgia Yarns Cashluxe Fine

*

*

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized