When a young knitter’s fancy turns to…more knitting

Lately I’ve been getting more of an impulse to knit socks. I’m chalking this up to spring, and the impulse to knit New Things That Are Also Portable. Also, I think it might have something to do with the fact that the floor space I use to practice yoga also faces my yarn stash shelf, and the cubbies that hold the sock yarn (because of course there is more than one sock yarn cubbie) are right about eye level with me when standing. And thirdly, as the winter comes to a close I’ve been noticing a bit more wearing and bits of felting on more of the socks in my sock drawer – I knit them less rapidly than I wear them, these days, and the sock drawer is always in need of new pairs to take the edge off.

I’ve still got the same pair of socks on the needles that I have had since February, though, so I’m trying not to sabotage my progress by casting on another one right away. (But Tuesday nights continue to yield a bit of knitting time while sitting in Photoshop class, so that’s helping). But since I am the sort of knitter who, some days, gets held up starting new projects by the simple act of having to wind the yarn, I decided to do my Future Sock Knitting Self a favour by winding up some new yarn to wait patiently until I get to use it.

Apr17-SocksThatRock

This morning after yoga I grabbed a couple of skeins of Socks That Rock from the stash, and then a couple of more just fell out onto the floor so I grabbed those too. I figured if they were going to put so much effort into making themselves noticeable, I might as well consider them as well. (Sometimes being me has its privileges. Like having a sock yarn stash cultivated over many years for just such moments. This is not an unenjoyable thing, I’m here to report).

Apr17-SocksThatRock2

I wound up two of the skeins in the most spring-like colours in the bunch, and now will happily be able to just grab them at a moment’s notice when the new-sock-knitting moment should happen to arrive. Interestingly enough, one skein is among the newest in the stash (a Rhinebeck 2012 purchase), and the other is among the newest (purchased several years ago at Lettuce Knit in Toronto), so that’s pretty neat.

So now I just have to finish a bunch of things on the needles and then I’ll totally get to one of these. Soon, sock yarn, soon.

I hope you’re knitting something delightful this Wednesday!

*

*

29 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

29 responses to “When a young knitter’s fancy turns to…more knitting

  1. Lilly

    Your sock yarns look just as lovely wound up as they do in skeins. Interestingly, I’ve been looking into ball winders lately – do you have a preference? Do you wind by hand? I have a lot of lace weight yarn to wind, and I’m getting confused by all the different advice that is available out there regarding winding vs. not winding with a ball winder.

  2. I’ve never purchased that yarn mostly because I’m not much of a sock knitter, however, I’m inspired by your post- now I want to knit some socks!! This yarn looks lovely!

  3. Solarmama

    I love my STR socks; the yarn is so nice and round that I can knit stockinette in the dark, and lovely colors. I see the green is Enchanted Forest, but I can’t quite read the colorway on the other, and I love them both. What’s the bluey-greeny one?

  4. Lovey colors inspire me. How do you wrap your yarn?

  5. I can’t imagine I would get a lot of meditative exercise accomplished if I had your view. Yarn is too big a distraction for me.

  6. I find myself reaching for greens more and more often.. must be spring fever!

  7. Linda

    I’m curious what you do with the labels so they don’t get lost (mine often do.) I stuff them into the middle of the ball but they manage to wiggle their way out while hanging out in the stash drawer. Then I have to figure out which label goes with which ball of yarn. Maybe putting a safety pin through label with the tail of yarn tied to it might do the trick. (Think I just answered my own question … unless you’ve got a better idea!)

    Still not much action in the Photoshop class, huh? It’s good you’ve got your knitting to stay sane!

  8. Kelli

    I’m actually knitting socks right now too! I am just hitting my sock making stride (I have only completed a few adult pairs) but am having fun experiencing many exciting yarns in beautiful simple stockinette.
    Happy Knitting to you as well, those cakes are just itching to be knit!!

  9. Oh my goodness…our only knit shop is closing and everything is on sale and so I went in and bought sock yarn. Then I went back two more times and bought more sock yarn. Beautiful beautiful sock yarn. I could probably knit for years! From zero stash to years’ of stash in 60 seconds!

  10. That’s a great idea! Enchanted Forest is stunning.

  11. What IS it this year with socks? I’ve knitted almost all of my life, but never have I been into knitting socks — until a few months ago. I am cranking them out like crazy, because they are so portable. I am aways looking for the best sock yarn, so if you have any opinions, I would love to hear them!

  12. Hi over there, I’m still busy with my dreambird, but in the meanwhile I am thinking about projects which I would like to knit. And socks are always on my mind and needles as well :). kindest bjmonitas

  13. Fantastic colors! I can’t wait to see what kind of socks they will become.

  14. I have a knitting confession. I’ve never done socks. I’ve made slippers, and sweaters, and hats, etc, etc. But I’ve never made socks. As a sock connoisseur, do you have a suggestion on a good first pair of socks to knit? (I’m not afraid of sock yarn btw). Thanks! I read your blog whenever you have a new post!

  15. I’ve only ever done thick chunky socks, but I’m interested in doing smaller socks. My cousin is currently falling deeply in love with size 0 needles and smaller and cranking out socks like crazy! Perhaps I’ll do a pair of legit socks (not chunky house socks) once I’m in the warm weather of New Orleans… Beautiful yarn choices!

  16. Kim Wepplo

    Amy suggestions for a nice, not too boring sock pattern?

  17. Carla

    Like many others I’d be very interested to know what you use for a ball winder and how you keep the labels with the wound yarn. Although I learned to knit years ago while living in Germany, I only just resumed knitting lessons in the last year or so. Still have so much to learn.

  18. I scanned these pictures first, and thought you were plotting a Color Affection. Now I find I need to make another one. And socks. And some lace. Dang…

  19. I’ve been dying to knit a pair of socks too! And I’ve got some STR Enchanted Forest that has been staring me down. If only I was done with my deadline knitting. I’ll just live vicariously through your socks for now.

  20. Yummy socks I started a pair myself!!!!

  21. Angela Hickman

    I have been all about socks lately. I always have a pair on the needles, but this week, they’re all I want to knit. Plain stockinette socks. I can’t get enough.

  22. Marjorie

    I’m curious as to what patterns you’ll be using :) I’m just about to frog ones I’m working on as they’re definitely going to be too small (and the pattern isn’t amenable to upsizing) and I’m just to stingy to give them away after all the time I know I’ll spend knitting them. I’m a size 10, normal width and will be spending some time on Ravelry scouting out potential patterns! Beautiful colours Glenna – looking forward to seeing them in the needles!

  23. Genia Potter

    Marjorie, Try Glenna’s Nice Ribbed Sock pattern. I’m hooked on them.
    Glenna, what’s your favorite pattern for breaking up the distinctive STR markings? Want something fun, but not fussy.

  24. Ovis Obscura

    I’m finishing a pair of worsted-weight socks as a prize for an event coming up in May (I love how quickly those knit up), and a pair of SPARKLY socks in Dream In Color Starry. Of course, I have the yarn for the next pair all picked out. I should follow your example and wind it.

    I look forward to seeing what socks you knit out of the gorgeous yarns you’ve chosen!

  25. I love the blues and greens.

  26. Catherine

    I was in the mood for socks too and cast on some today! I am using Araucania Botany Lace and it is absolutely delicious! I can’t wait to see them finished!

  27. I have just started knitting socks (have a half made sock on my lap). Definately getting addicted!

  28. Pingback: For the Sock Curious | Knitting to Stay Sane

  29. marybethlynn

    Socks that Rock – - – -YUMMY YUMMY – my personal favorite and lucky me – I live in Portland – close to where it is made. I love the feel and the smell and everything there is to love about a yarn.