Digging deep

July9-JaywalkersSkyway2

So, here’s the thing. Now that I’ve suddenly revived my affection for the Jaywalker sock pattern, I’m not sure I’m going to be able to stop any time soon. I mean, I’m still going to knit other things besides Jaywalkers, of course, but it turns out that finishing one pair means that I just have to cast on a new pair right away. A few years ago I knitted myself a full week’s worth of Jaywalkers (plus a couple of extra), and you know, I think I might need a new week’s worth of them. Plus, I’m a firm believer in following your knitting-obsessed brain where ever it wants to lead you at the time, so bring it on, I say.

July9-JaywalkersSkyway1

I finished up my green pair last week, along with my Charlotte St. mitts, and I took the opportunity to dig deep into my sock yarn stash for the next pair. This is more Lorna’s Laces shepherd sock, in a limited edition colourway from the original Sock Summit in 2009. Yep, this stuff is 4-year-old stash. Old enough that it’s almost hard to start knitting it up, because then it won’t be stash anymore. If it was a cheddar cheese I’d almost be thinking about saving it for weekend wine & cheese, rather than just any old snack time. I even took a few moments to lovingly photograph it in its skeins, because once you wind it up then you don’t have it in pretty skeined form, and isn’t that sort of a shame?

July7-LLsock

Perhaps unsurprisingly, the colourway is called ‘vampire tea party’, showing off a nice gothic dark grey-and-red combination. Also unsurprisingly, I am just as enamoured with the name as I am with the actual colours. And since I had a mostly dark colourway come off the needles, I’m happy to turn to a slightly bright colourway for this next pair. It’s nice to have variety in the sock drawer, after all.

July9-JaywalkersVampire

Sweaters and swatches are also getting back into the mix though, for sure, so I’ll be sure to report more on that next time! I hope you’re staying cool in the summer heat (at least, if you’re in a northern hemisphere clime), and that you’ve got some fun knitting to think about this week. Happy knitting!

*

Pattern: Jaywalker, by Grumperina
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock, in ‘skyway’ (completed) and ‘vampire tea party’ (in progress)

*

*

28 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

28 responses to “Digging deep

  1. Linda A

    I certainly have my own knitting obsessions but never with one particular pattern. I suppose there’s something to be learned in doing that though – a certain efficiency or economy of effort, an expertise-builder, (not to mention a drawer-full of socks while down-sizing the stash). I knit pretty wash cloths (for quick gifts to give with soaps or bath products) when I need to keep my fingers moving while thinking about other things. I look forward to those “other things” you’ve got brewing! And, hey, why not knit with the best even for “any old snack time.” Isn’t half the fun of knitting, doing so with pretty string? I’ve got a lot of one-skein wonders sitting around begging to be socks … one of these days I’ll start that climb from figuring it out to eventually being able to whip them out quickly, over and over again. You’re inspiring me to do so and I’m sure my feet will someday thank you.
    Thanks for a good read! As always, your posts are a delight to read.

  2. Magi

    Well – because you decided to knit another pair of Jaywalkers, I thought it was time I did too! I switched from 2,5mms to 2,75 mms just for the ankle part and then back to 2,5mms – I’m a tight knitter I guess.

    My other fav pattern is Pomatomus by Cookie A – Knitty way back. I’ve dome that pattern 6 times :)

  3. Hillary

    That new colorway looks beautiful!! Just curious– how long did it take you to knit the part of the cuff shown in the last picture? Thanks!

  4. P Dragon

    The Jaywalkers are certainly worth some obsessing. Your latest finished pair is exquisite, and the new one is clearly going to be every bit as lovely. In fact, I think you’ve inspired me to knit a pair of my own. :)

  5. bittergirl13

    I have yet to be bitten by the Jaywalker bug, but your pictures are really making me lean in their direction! Your ‘Vampire Tea Party’ colorway is just gorgeous – of course I had to go to Ravelry to see if there were any skeins for sale, but there’s only one listed (in any category)!

  6. pat

    That’s how I feel about the Cookie A’s Monkey sock. I’ve only knit it once but I’ve been resisting knitting it. I came late to the Monkey sock fan club but I really enjoyed knitting the pattern and love the socks. Your post makes me wonder, why resist? I’ll be casting on another. Your socks are beautiful and I will have to try a Jaywalker very soon.

  7. Wowzer, you are one productive sock knitter! I’m very impressed, and my feet are jealous.

  8. Stephanie

    Looks like a pattern I’ll have to try! Wonderful colors, too!

  9. Michelle

    Your socks look lovely, I’m jealous but I haven’t tried to knit socks yet as I just started knitting last November.

    I have a question for you about storing yarn. I have heard that yarn should only be stored in balls not skeins. Is this true??? You store yours in skein form and it seems just fine.

  10. Louise

    My obsessions are Cheryl Niamath’s Fetching, fingerless gloves and Glenna C.’s Weekend Socks, in Cascade 220. Soon to be in every family memer’s drawer under the age of 60 ha-ha-ha

  11. Genia Potter

    Since I love your own sock designs so much, and have knit them so often, I’m going to have to fall down the rabbit hole and knit a pair of Jaywalkers
    of my own.
    Been loving the ones you knit forever – and the Skyway socks seem to have pushed me over the edge.
    You enabler, you! ;o)

  12. The Jaywalker socks look amazing, and I love the Vampire Tea Party wool, need to track some of that down. After about 4 pairs of socks as presents I am now back onto the jumpers for Christmas presents- got a little bored of socks but no doubt will be back on it soon!

  13. Sue

    I love Jaywalkers! The fit on the foot is sublime. It never ever falls down or slides inside your shoe! I just finished a pair a couple of months ago and all your recent talk about Jaywalkers has me itching to maybe make another pair. I think I’ve knit Jaywalkers more than any other sock pattern. This addict sat here nodding her head reading your first paragraph like “Oh yeah! I feel ya!!!”

  14. I haven’t tried knitting socks yet, but I really like this pattern!

  15. LONG LIVE THE JAYWALKER!! :-)

  16. I love that vampire tea party color. I’m so sad that it’s a special edition!

  17. Tell me about it! I’ve become obsessed with your Simple Rib Sock pattern. All I want to do is settle in, listen to an audio book and knit around and around! You are a high quality enabler!

  18. I’ve never had a knitting jag quite like that, but they sure are fun to watch!

  19. Beautiful Jaywalkers!

  20. I know what you mean about pulling yarn out of stash… sometimes it almost seems like winding a skein of yarn into a cake and knitting with it is breaking it somehow. I feel the same way about really nice notebooks. They are “too nice to use,” and I end up writing on cheap spiral notebooks instead.

  21. I am knitting yet another pair of Jaywalkers at the moment – in the colourway ‘Zombie Apocalypse’.

  22. I always love all of your stuff, especially the socks but is there an easy way to turn a pattern from Top Down to Toe Up. I’m really in love with Toe Up socks but it always seems like every pattern is Top Down :(

  23. Vampire tea party! I love it. Great colors. Jaywalkers are amazing. A week’s worth of them is a fantastic idea.

  24. I discovered your blog site on google and check a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the very good operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking forward to reading more from you later on!

  25. Daphne

    I got inspired by you to try Jaywalkers for the first time, and they are coming up very nicely. Not quite 4 yr old stash yarn, but it is 2 years old. Like another commenter, I have knit Cookie’s Monkey several times (and probably will knit more). However, my go to pattern is your “Nice ribbed socks”. Thanks

  26. sara wright

    you’ve inspired me to knit my own jaywalkers! ordered some LL’s sock from jimmybeanswool and i’m anxiously awaiting it’s arrival so i can cast on. I too believe you should follow your knitting obsessions! it’s so fun! mine are usually socks and sockhead hats……i think i might add jaywalker socks to the mix as well. :)) thanks for the inspiration.

  27. Pingback: A Good Example | Ovis Obscura

  28. Carol Oldfield

    very cool socks – and colours! you have inspired me – thankyou so much