Daily Archives: October 9, 2013

The Rhinebeck sweater

I’m looking forward (as are many other knitters across the continent and beyond, no doubt) to my annual trip to Rhinebeck next weekend, and it’s a toss up whether the knitting time and yarn time are a bigger draw over getting to spend time with knitter friends I usually only see in the internet, or vice versa. As I’ve been knitting away on sweaters the last few months I’ve had Rhinebeck in the back of my mind as the goal wearing time for them as well, since a lot of knitters generally make Rhinebeck the knitting deadline for a finished project they want to wear. My Locke St. cardigan is definitely going to be coming with me, as it is now finished (I really am going to get photos of it, I swear), but after I finished that one I started right away on a Burrard cardigan as a second one.

Oct9-Burrard1

This one has been my train knitting for the last month or so, and I’m really loving how it’s turning out so far. I’m actually onto the second of the fronts which means that all that remains after that is the finishing and the collar. It’s non-negligible, but I sort of realized that the part of my brain that is happy that Rhinebeck is now just a week and a half away is not the same part of my brain that would normally point out that a week and a half is really not a fully expansive amount of time, and this will be cutting things a bit finely especially if I plan to get any other knitting done during the same time (which I do).

Oct9-Burrard2

I think it’ll be good, though. The nice thing about being Canadian in all of this is that Rhinebeck weekend is preceded by our Thanksgiving weekend, which includes a holiday Monday, which of course means more knitting time. (Do holidays mean something else? I would find that hard to believe.) Although I do need to track down buttons, I’ve got enough yarn, that I am sure of (it’s Madelinetosh DK, in ‘oxblood’), and I’ve been in lots tighter Rhinebeck knitting spots before.

I do have one little snafu to go back and correct – Madelinetosh yarn is beautiful but also prone to dye lot inconsistency, and when I switched skeins at the top of a sleeve cap I neglected to alternate rows for a bit to ease the transition, and well, now I have a dark splotch at the top of the sleeve. (I remembered to alternate rows when I switched skeins on the body, though, so it was a decent cautionary moment.) It’s a small fix, but one I’ll have to go back to all the same.

Oct9-Burrard4

Then all that will be left is to hope the weather cooperates and brings some sweater-appropriate temperatures! Fingers crossed all around.

Happy knitting this Wednesday!

 

*

 

 

*

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized