Daily Archives: December 30, 2013

Knitting out the old, knitting in the new

It’s been a pretty good holiday around these parts, and I’m lucky enough to have carved out just a couple more days of it for myself, with some quiet time to knit and work on pattern notes and projects at whatever pace I feel like. We got a Christmas-card-worthy white Christmas last week and now the temperatures have dropped several degrees below freezing once more, meaning that hibernating inside with knitting for just a bit longer is, in my estimation, quite an acceptable way to finish out 2013.

There will be a bit of final merriment to be sure, but in general I’m very glad to have gotten some good project time in. I let myself cast on a new project on Christmas day as a present to myself, and for a few days just alternated between knitting projects that I felt like working on at the time. This week it’s back to design work again but it’s nice to get a few new things in the mix.

Dec29-Joist

Dec29-ShireMens1

Dec30-PiShawl

From top to bottom, these are: Joist Pullover in Cascade 220 Heathers, an upcoming cabled Aran design of my own in Harrisville Highland, and another Pi Shawl started back in September in Malabrigo Sock (eggplant), all in various stages of progress!

(Related: considering making pale eggplant and rustic red my colours for 2014. Well OK, leafy green, you can come too.)

Dec30-Desk

I also took some time to sort out my closets (yarn stash included) to tidy out some clutter, and will be glad to start the new year with a bit more order in it. I might even sweep out a couple of dusty corners for good measure.

I hope you get some nice knitting time in what remains of 2013, and that your 2014 knitting plans have some new and fun things! Thanks for hanging out here with me for another year, and I wish you many good projects to come in the new year.

*

*

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized