Daily Archives: June 25, 2010

Really, I swear

I promise I am still knitting. Despite the rather disturbing fact that it has been over a month since I had a Finished Object (a realization which is leaving me just a little bit nutty, let me tell you), I have actually been getting in a fairly consistent level of knitting in. I’ve also got several projects in progress in various states of unfinished-ness, which is also contributing to the nuttiness. I’m starting to twitch a bit. I need finished things. FINISHED. COMPLETE. ACHIEVED.

June25-BridgewaterEdge

The Bridgewater shawl, I have decided, is going to be my focus until it gets done. I am now (thankfully) on the lace chart for the edging and am committed to doing several rows a day. Mind you, when every row now takes a minimum of 20 minutes, this is not a small commitment. But I will do it. It’s just (hah, “just”, she says) the rest of this lace chart and then an edging, and then the glorious moment of blocking will be MINE. The blocking is the goal. It’s like the cheering finish line at the end of the race.

Some times I think knitting is a battle between the desire for instant gratification and the desire to have really really beautiful things. I am not sure those two camps overlap a great deal, to be honest. So until then, I will have to remind myself that making beautiful things is rarely instantaneous, and knit accordingly.

And then I’m going to knit really quick pair of gloves.

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized