Inferno Legwarmers – 2 ways

At Knit the Classics, participants are challenged to work on a knitted or otherwise crafted project to parallel the ‘classic’ novel selection of each month. It’s sort of an online book club with the option of putting your crafting skills to work at the same time. The May 2007 selection was ‘The Inferno’ by Dante Alighieri. So, naturally, I decided to make legwarmers with flames on them. You know, so the flames of Hell can literally lick at your heels. That makes sense, right? 😉

Inferno1large Inferno4

Download the free pattern here:
InfernoLegwarmersPDF

[EDIT]: Hey, look, now it’s a prize-winning pattern, too! Aw, shucks.

Yarn: Patons Classic Merino in ‘black’and ‘regency’. You would need 2 balls of black and 1 ball of regency if you make 1 of each version or if you make both with the flame pattern, and 1 ball of each colour if you are making both with the striped version.
Length: 16.5 ins
Size: To fit leg circumference 14-16 ins around at upper calf.
Needles: 4.5mm and 3.5mm DPNs
Cast on: May 22
Cast off: June 2
Notes: Since I couldn’t decide between the flame motif and the nine circles (one for each of the circles of hell through which Dante descends), I decided to do one of each. There are instructions for both included in the pattern. There is also a vertical band of k1, p1 ribbing at the front and back of the legwarmer to add a bit more cling and structural integrity.

I must say quite like the contrast between the black and the red/orange variegated – it’s one of the new variegated shades of Patons Classic Merino and this was a fun excuse to try it out since I’ve only ever used the solids. And since it is officially June and now in the land of red/black/metallics for Project Spectrum, I suppose I could count this as my first project for that too, right? Look at that, it’s a two-fer!

9 comments

  1. Definitely a ‘twofer’!

    Love them!

  2. Awesome. I like them a lot.

  3. Great logic!

  4. Great leg warmers!!!

    BTW “Paisley” is from Rowan Classic Weekend. There’s lotsa cable knits in there.

  5. These turned out so awesome! I’m linking to them if you don’t mind.

  6. twistedknitter · ·

    I’m knitting these up right now and I’m wondering how you did the flames? Did you just carry the CC around (them’s some biiig floats) or did you do intarsia in the round, or tons of ends to weave in or what?? Can you help a fellow chick with sticks out???? 🙂

  7. […] just over a year ago, we read Dante’s ‘The Inferno’ and that’s when my flamey legwarmers happened. I wonder what Rebecca’s romance and suspense or Peter Carey’s Australian band […]

  8. I just made a pair of these. I was wondering did i do something wrong. Because mines just keeps slipping down.