Post-travel

It’s been a whirlwind week so far, one that feels like it really is only just starting, so I am rather surprised to discover it is already Thursday. But I suppose when you begin the week finishing a long weekend vacation, come back on Tuesday and then scurry off on Wednesday for a knitting talk in the evening (it was quite fun, thank you Toronto DKC!), well then of course here I am at Thursday finally getting down to all of those other things I meant to have done by this time this week.

Feb19-AirportKnitting

(Waiting in the airport on the way back from DC – that’s my own Ravine pullover, and the closest thing I’ve gotten yet to a modelled shot of it, despite happily wearing it all winter!)

The weekend jaunt was enjoyable, and spent mostly in the company of knitting friends, knitting, chatting, eating, and drinking wine. There was a shopping excursion in there somewhere, when I blinked and suddenly found myself with 3 new pairs of shoes that fit me. (Size 11s, unite!). I managed to visit just one yarn shop (thank you, Looped!), which does seem a bit like a paltry effort, but I came away with two very nice items from it (a house-made project bag and a skein of Madelinetosh sock destined for something unknown).

Feb21-Looped

I finished two projects, started a third, and made progress on two others, so all in all I call that pretty good for a few days’ work. These happy red swatches are from the sweater I just started (for me all me, in a pattern written by someone else), and I’ll be sure to report more progress on that next time.

Feb21-Swatches

I hope you’re knitting something fabulous this Thursday!

*
*
*
*

17 comments

  1. Pure Klass · ·

    That red is inspirational! I never really work with colors that bright (for anything other than toys…) but you might have just changed my mind about that.

  2. danadoodle · ·

    So jealous that you made it to Looped! I’ve been missing everyone there terribly since I moved this past summer.

  3. Hi there, just wanted to let you know I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award and the Very Inspiring blog award. If you are interested go to this link. http://ourgrowingpaynes.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/one-lovely-blog-award-and-the-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

  4. I am knitting something fabulous, in fact! My second Armour Road Sock 😀

  5. I’m just finishing up the cabled yoke for a precious little baby sweater! It’s so much fun I can barely stand it.

  6. Love love..l o v e the sweater choices and colors…yes, both of them..please…WIP photos when available..this is my year of the sweater..been awhile for me.

  7. I have a skein of Madelinetoh sock as well (Palomino) I haven’t had a chance to knit it yet but… I love the color(s) in yours.

  8. Mrs aDDamo · ·

    I am also working on Socks, my second attemp. I spent 1 month to finish 1 sock last year, hopefully, this time will be better.
    I love the red color, and it is a very nice pattern too. Yes, same here, I always have a big handbag in order to bring my needles and wool with me anywhere.

  9. Marie-Josée · ·

    Gorgeous pattern you are working on! I really wish I could knit something like that. And I love the first picture of your post… creative!

  10. patty bolgiano · ·

    what yarn brand is the red yarn, and color number as well.

    thanks

  11. I’m knitting away at my good old Cascades 220 yarn, making a kid’s sweater. Little Buds is the name of the pattern (Ravelry). Miles of garter stitch. I did not realize just how much faster it is to complete something that does not involve purling, only knit stitch! Joy! Zoom! Away I go!

  12. I am jealous of your red sweater! It looks so cheerful and anti-winter!

  13. Knitting your Flavia Shawl, so of course it’s fabulous!

  14. That Madtosh sock is gorgeous!

  15. I think we need a picture of the shoes…
    My mother wore size 10 5A shoe (that probably really dates me), and the shoe stores in the small city we lived in would bring in maybe 1 pair in that size. I remember her joy after visiting her sister in a large American city and coming home with 5 pair of shoes.

    Love the cheery red yarn.

  16. What is that red yarn? It looks fab.

  17. Looped is my FAVORITE yarn store in DC!! I am a native but like the poster above, I moved this summer too!