Daily Archives: March 4, 2008

Queue strategy

I need another sweater project like I need a hole in the head, I know. But see, I went up to the Listowel Spinrite sale again on Saturday (with Kim – blogless – and also Steph and Martha, which made for a pretty hilarious car ride), and I told myself that if I hadn’t cast on any thing with the yarn I purchased on the previous sale trip (which was last August), then I had to do so in the car.

I’d finished a pair of socks the day before, and Venezia just wasn’t the right car trip knitting anyhow, so I pulled out one of the bags of Shetland Chunky I’d purchased in August and set out armed with the Street Smart booklet. You know, that booklet, the one everyone on the internet and their hamster has knitted something from. I purchased the booklet in August as well to help me use the Shetland Chunky (which was $9 for a bag of 10 balls, and my willpower was not strong enough to pass that up), but just hadn’t gotten to it yet. We’ve still got a bit of sweater weather going, so maybe this wasn’t such a bad idea after all.

UrbanAran-March4

Admittedly, this yarn isn’t something I would normally go out and buy for myself if it wasn’t on sale. But it’s still 25% wool we’ll forget for a moment that the rest is acrylic and feels soft, and it’s chunky which means speed is definitely on my side. And the colour is lovely. I’m enjoying getting more practice with cables, and am finally getting the hang of the cabling without a cable needle technique. It will definitely be a cardigan for me, since the acrylic factor would make it a little too stifling as a pullover. It’s been good bus knitting so far.

With Venezia and Glowing also on the go, we’ll just have to see which of these 3 sweaters can cross the finish line in March. ::ominous organ music:: Heh.

Even more remarkable is that, up until Saturday, the Urban Aran was the only thing in my Ravelry queue (which, if you’re not on Ravelry yet, is the place where you can file away patterns on a ‘to-knit’ list, and include notes on what yarn you’d like to use, etc). Now, my queue looks like this:

Photobucket

I realized a few weeks ago that my queue had stopped being the fun exciting wish list that it was in the beginning, and had started instead to make my stash look like a cumbersome and foreboding to-do list. Rather than making me happy about all the waiting potential projects in my stash, it was increasing my stash guilt to unreasonable levels. Since I’m trying right now to have a better relationship with my stash – i.e. wherein I knit from it more often and remind myself to “go shopping in my stash” for new projects – I just decided to make that queue into a fresh blank slate. From now on, when things go into my queue they really will be just the next 1 or 2 projects I want on deck, and anything else can happily rest in my ‘favourites’ and web bookmarks. I’ll decide on new projects one at a time, as the need arises.

Oh, stash psychology. Fun times.

Photobucket

In other news, the Korknisse and I are all moved out of Chez Beatrice and are temporarily relocated at my parents’ place (not far), finishing out the term, finishing out my dissertation, and continuing the job hunt. It’s been a long time since I actually lived at home so it’ll be an interesting adventure, but I will say that it is good to actually have all my possessions in only one location. I’m hoping to be able to do some decent sorting out and figure out what I need to keep, what can be recycled/garage-saled/Goodwilled/given away, what just needs to get tossed, and so on.

Just as long as I still get to keep my stash. A knitter has to draw the line somewhere. ;)

14 Comments

Filed under stash, sweaters