The trouble with Monday

…is that it is not the weekend. Knitting-wise, I had a pretty decent Sunday. I went into Toronto with Martha and met up with Lisa, Martina, and her friend Nichole for high tea at the Knit Cafe. We compared our current knitting, fantasy knitting (in my head I will have 3 shawls and 4 socks knitted by Tuesday…danged reality of the space-time continuum), and ate a series of small tasty treats. It was delicious.

Photobucket

I think I will have to go again. Mmmm.

My current knitting that has been on the go for a week now is the Oyster Bay shawl (also available as a Ravelry download). Kate has knitted two of these now and makes it seem as easy as getting out of bed, and it’s lace which uses fingering weight which I like, so I decided to just go for it.

Photobucket

Last August when I was in Halifax I picked up 3 skeins of Tanis Fiber Arts fingering weight (which I am now pleased to report is available in Toronto as well) in the stubbornly bright ‘royal flush’ colourway, intending to do a shawl with it eventually, and lo and behold eventually has arrived. The pattern is going along quite smoothly so far, though I had quite a hiccup in the beginning which turned out to be related to the fact that the nice neat little “pattern repeat” box was not at all visible on my printed black & white copy. Check your colour PDFs, my friends. Hours of teeth-gnashing might be saved.

And now it is Monday, and I am trying very hard not to switch out “grade stack of papers” for “swatch for new sweater”. We’ll see how that goes.

Keep the knitting close by!

18 comments

  1. Oh, the high tea sounds (and looks) fabulous! Oyster Bay is knitting up nicely.

    I wish I could knit instead of holding office hours…

  2. kateohkatie · ·

    Amazing looking tea! I can’t blame you for wanting to go back 🙂

    Discovered this most useful tool yesterday. I’m hoping it’ll help me come to grips with the workweek:

    http://www.isitsaturday.net/

    I’ve already been there 4 times this morning, just to check 😀

  3. Oooh, high tea in a yarn shop…I can’t think of much better than that! And the shocking pink yarn is gorgeous.

    Wouldn’t it be nice to have five-day weekends and two-day work weeks?

  4. I forgot that you were in Halifax last summer. I’m looking at taking a trip there in June and I’d love some suggestions of places to check out (and good places to score some Fleece Artist!).

  5. ladyoctavia · ·

    Looking good!

    And darn.. now I want brownies!!! Between that picture and all the M&M Meatshop adds at the curling, I think I’m pretty much doomed to stop and get some tonight…

  6. Yum and Yum. Fabulous looking food and your knitting is looking tasty too.

  7. Could the weeks and weekends swap places perhaps?

    Love the stubbornly bright yarn

  8. I NEED one of those scones immediately! Your Sunday sounds like a slice of knitterly heaven.

  9. your shawl looks a lot of like the Orangina shirt i knit a few months back and I just got flashbacks of how much I didn’t want to knit something giant and lace again for a while, but – kudos to you and your patience because it looks beautiful!!

  10. High tea AND knitting? That sounds like an awesome Sunday 🙂

  11. I love the color of you Oyster Bay. 🙂 Sounds like a fun weekend. Too bad you can’t swatch and grade papers at the same time. 😉

  12. Tea! Tea! Tea! 🙂 Love the shawl and the colour is stunning.

    I find myself in the same ‘to swatch, or not to swatch’ boat as you. It’s bloomin’ hard! 🙂

  13. It must be so devine to have friends you can sit and knit with, and to each deliciously fattening goodies while you are knitting sounds like heaven! I am going to visit my family this weekend and am looking forward to sitting and knitting and chatting. I am trying to get my Mom going on some knitting, but she hasn’t knitted in years!! I love your blog so much, yours was the first one I discovered when I first started knitting again and it has inspired me greatly. Thanks!

  14. What fun that all sounds!

    That shawl is on my favorites/to-do list as well. What’s not to love about it? 🙂

  15. Yummo! Looks delicious! Love the shawl. I am starting one, but I like your pattern better, so I think I may start over with yours!

  16. My goodness, those cakes ….

  17. I love your blog…..and missed reading you this week…hope the week was not too terrible!

    Take care.

  18. The cafe looks like a great place for knitters. Love the color of your shawl.