Urban Collection: Locke St.

What can I say, folks, but that it’s a great relief to finally get to show off a few designs to you after keeping them under wraps for so long. February marks the first wave of releases of my Urban Collection, which will be a collection of eight knitting patterns in total. Between February and April I’ll add 2-3 more patterns to the collection each month until it is complete. (My previous post gives a good visual snapshot of the first five designs – the rest are in the works!) My goal for this collection was a set of patterns that would sit well in the “urban classic” realm – designs that will be comfortable and wearable now as well as a few years from now.

Locke Street Cardi

Rather than overwhelm you all at once with the whole sha-bang, I’ll be staggering the releases so that they are a bit more seasonally appropriate – as a result, the warmest patterns are the first ones out of the gate in February. Closer to April, you can predict a few lighter accessories and lace pieces to make an appearance. The complete collection will contain two sweaters, two lace items, and four smaller accessories. I hope you’ll love them as much as I do! All of the patterns feature Tanis Fiber Arts yarn, in a variety of yarn weights from Aran to laceweight.

As the patterns are released, you’ll be able to purchase them individually at any time in my Ravelry store, but if you’d like to take the plunge for the whole set, the collection may be purchased now for a few dollars cheaper than the final collection price, and I’ll keep that ‘preview price’ available until the March patterns are posted (around March 12th, a month later than today.) Once you’ve purchased the collection, you’ll receive updates as patterns are added.
(I’m working on making these available on Patternfish as well, as an e-book, for non-Ravelry users – stay tuned for updates there!)

LockeSt2

Since I was working with the aesthetic of “urban classic” in mind, when thinking about pattern names I decided to draw on the cities in which I have lived as a knitter. The patterns are all named after streets that I am familiar with in these cities. The first pattern I’d like to introduce you to is the Locke St. Cardigan. This is named for a favourite street of mine in my hometown of Hamilton, Ontario (if I’m hanging at a cafe or heading off in search of poutine or organic chocolate bars, or even a run to the bank – chances are, this is where I’m doing that.) This is a buttoned cardigan in the style of a classic cabled knit, including modern details like waist shaping and v-neck collar. Using DK-weight Tanis Fiber Arts Yellow Label yarn at 5.5 sts/inch, it is also a little lighter than a traditional Aran cardi might be, which means you’ll be able to get good wear out of this as a layer underneath your jacket in the cold seasons, or wear it as a layer itself when it’s a bit warmer.

LockeSt1

Friends Austen (above) and Emily (in the detailed shots) helped me out with modelling this, and both were pretty comfortable in it. In fact, I think it fit Austen so nicely that I am a little surprised she didn’t try the “hey! look over there!” trick, only to have me turn around and discover she was missing.

How about the cables? Let’s talk about the cables. You want cables, hoo boy, this sweater has cables!

LockeSt-Detail1

I like using symmetry and structure in my designs when I can, and the big show piece of this sweater is the way the cables lend vertical focus and visual appeal, especially down the back of the piece. Two diamond cables twist down the centre and are flanked by a few smaller twists and claw cables, for accent and delicate appeal. There is a blend here of cables and twisted stitches (mostly sneaking in in the ribbing and in between the cable placements – I just can’t give up my precious twisted stitches entirely, it seems!).

LockeSt-Detail2

Sizing for this pattern runs between 35-55 ins around at bust (when closed), and is intended for slight positive ease between 2-4 ins or so, according to preference. As usual, I provide some suggestions in the pattern notes about how to work cables without a cable needle, if you’re interested in that method as a potential way of building speed and efficiency. (Having said that, though, I know there are knitters who are speed demons with cable needles, so choose whatever method floats your boat!)
And also as usual, feel free to consult the pattern schematic and gauge if you prefer to modify your patterns for a more customized fit for yourself.

Thank you again to Jane D. for the photography on this project, and Stephannie Tallent for the technical editing, and to friends Tammy and Kelly for providing test-knitting feedback during the knitting process!

Now that I’ve said a mouthful, I’m looking forward to taking a break for a couple of days to knit and let these February projects be out in the world a little bit. When next we meet I’ll formally introduce you to the Locke St. cardi’s companions – the Aberdeen Ave. hat and mittens. They are just as warm and toasty, and the weather seems to agree – we finally have snow around these parts!

Happy knitting this fine Sunday!
.

.

29 comments

  1. Simply stunning Glenna

  2. gorgeous cable design in this sweater!!!

  3. Love it…..

  4. Wow…just wow. This is definitely going in my queue. Maybe it will be my spring project? After I finish the sweater I’m working on now, and the baby blanket, and the lace one that I bought yarn for. But it’s SO PRETTY!

  5. Very very nice. I’m sure this is collection I’m going to be needing!

  6. this is so exciting! i can’t wait to see the whole collection.

  7. christine m. east of toronto · ·

    nice work!

  8. Thanks Glenna – exactly what I’ve been looking for!

  9. Gorgeous sweater! Love the diamond twist cables.

  10. Gorgeous! Such a classic, I think that everyone should own a sweater like this.

  11. Gorgeous! I cannot wait to cast on – yes, I did get the collection!

  12. Absolutely beautiful!! Quite excited to see the rest of the designs!

  13. I’ve been looking for a cardigan to knit for my mom, and I think this might be just perfect! 😀

  14. Very Nice! Loving the cables.

  15. Marie Roche · ·

    You sweater is stunning! How would you rate the difficulty level? I have done some cabling, these however look a bit intimidating. I still would like to try the sweater but am curious how much cabling experience is needed.

    Marie

  16. Love the sweater. Love that you named it Locke Street.

  17. This is just purely stunning!

  18. Love the sweater!

  19. I love that yarn color. Fab pattern, although probably too complex for wimpy me. Such talent you have!

  20. It’s beautiful!! I love the texture, it looks like a perfect winter cardi. And yay Jane for the awesome photos!!

  21. Beautiful cable, what a pro!

  22. You know, I was pretty certain from the picture in your last post that this was going to turn out to be a hat pattern. How wrong I was! I adore the claw cables; I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything quite like them. I also love that you added waist shaping. Hooray for trim-fitting, flattering cardigans!

  23. Lovely! And so is your model. You are SOOOOOO lucky you got that sweater back!

  24. Hi Marie

    Thanks for the question! I would put this somewhere in the Intermediate range – there are three different cable charts but two have very short repeats and mostly the attention would be for the central diamond cables if you have less cabling experience. Aside from the cables, the level of difficulty would be similar to what you’d expect from a shaped sweater – knitting the pieces, seaming, taking your measurements and selecting a size, that sort of thing.

    I hope that helps! 🙂

    Glenna

  25. Wonderful cardi Glenna and one I’ll definitely be making! I love that you shaped it – on us 40-somethings, shaping is soooooooo important!!!! Love also all the detailed pics – you just don’t get that with store bought patterns! Thanks so much! Can’t wait to make it!!!! lol x

  26. Gorgeous! Simply gorgeous!

  27. This is the most beautiful sweater I have ever seen. 🙂 I’m praticing knitting cables without a cable needle on my current project (an Aran sweater) and I’m hopeful that once I’ll have finished that, I’ll have enough experience to try my hand on this one. A classic, really. Casual, as cardigans are, but so full of detail. I’m lookig forward to it – as well as to your other new designs. Keep up the great work! 🙂

  28. Joy Dias · ·

    Love your designs. I’ve bought a number of them. Just bought the pattern for the Locke St Cardigan and eager to start. Any suggestions for making the length of the body and the sleeves shorter? Wondered if you could suggest how many inches from the hem to the waist, as it doesn’t say in the schematics.