Forward motion

I’m chugging onwards with the Rhinebeck sweater and just might have it on track. (Or so she says now.) I’m well into the body now and with a bit of string and crazy glue this thing might make it on time after all, which is great since, you know, weather reports are predicting sunny and warm temps for next week. Which is really what you are looking for in a weekend when everyone brings knitted sweaters made just for the occasion.

Oct8-MaximaSweaterProgress

But really, who cares what the weather is going to be like next weekend? I’m knitting my sweater and it’s fun and snuggly and cozy and I feel like those are the important criteria for kicking off fall with a bunch of knitters. If it isn’t sweater weather then pfffflllbbbppptt, so there.

The real reason I can tell I’m making good progress on the sweater, though, is that I’m starting to look longingly at all the rest of my yarn and the zillion other plans and ideas I want to get going on. Nothing says “almost done” like “what else could I be knitting right now?”

Oct8-StashIdeas

It’s Thanksgiving weekend here, and that means lots of food and more knitting time this weekend, which is pretty great. Allow me to extend my thanks to you, dear blog readers, for coming along for the ride with me these past 5 years and more. I am 100% grateful for knitting, knitters, yarn, and everything I have been able to do because of them.

Knit on! And happy weekend.

12 comments

  1. I looooove your sweater I cannot wait to see it finished.

  2. I actually used Elmer’s Glue once in college while taking a tailoring class. Took care very nicely of those pesky little threads poking out of the corners. Have no clue if the professor knew what I had done.

    Happy Thanksgiving! (Come visit here and you can have turkey again in November.)

  3. I’m in love with your sweater. Happy Thanksgiving! Hope i run into you next weekend, I’ll say hi for sure.

  4. I agree with your statement “Nothing says “almost done” like “what else could I be knitting right now?” I have so many things I am itching to begin and it can be distracting to say the least.
    I am a work in progress as I edge closer and closer to the bottomless pit of ADD, “Oh, look, there’s a sheep!” I am abysmal at sticking to the conversation in a group…. bleh

    I can’t seem to stay focused for the life of me. But I guess that’s ok, as long as I can keep up with pattern instructions, nothing else matters. lol

  5. Happy Thanksgiving! Love the sweater. Look forward to seeing what is next.

  6. Nebraska Knitter · ·

    So I just did something only another knitter would do. I picked up my laptop and turned it sideways so I could read the color name on the BMF skein of yarn. 🙂 Coppertree? Happy Thanksgiving! Hope the food is good.

  7. Beautiful cables! Looking forward to the final product.

  8. irisrainbow · ·

    that yarn really brings out the cables!

  9. Looking great! Fingers crossed…

  10. Hey guys, I’m new! I just had to say that Erin, I completely agree with you. I have been absolutely incapable of paying attention to anything for the past week and a half. The margins of my class notes are full of doodles of socks, mittens, and sweaters. I just hope that I can focus long enough to finish my exam tomorrow, without making a reference to wool.

    Also, Glenna, that sweater is beautiful. Just had to say.

  11. I love the way those cables look in that yarn! 🙂

  12. Like a previous commenter, I had to enlarge the stash picture and turn my head sideways to read the colorway on the BMFA skein. Coppertree…ahhh, that baby has been beckoning me for a long time….!!!

    Your sweater looks gorgeous – can’t wait to see it finished and modeled!