Royale

Okay, so usually when I finish a design and then put it out into the world for public consumption, I am immediately filled with a strangling mix of glee and terror, when all my insecurities about things I could have done differently/better/while inhabiting a different personality/with more Zen/whatever immediately jump up and down on my head.

Not this time. Or, at least I can say that the glee part of my brain is winning, for the moment. I love this pattern. I love it to little tiny bits. This is the ‘Royale’ pullover, (available here in my Ravelry store, and here on Patternfish) and my second of two designs for Tanis Fiber Arts this season (just in time for the Knitter’s Frolic on Saturday!)

May6-Royale11-Full

I’d been wanting to do a pullover pattern of some kind for Tanis, as I’d done a cardigan jacket for her last fall, and I also knew I wanted to do something with cables. Once I got the yarn in my hands – this is a “new and improved”, deeper, richer version of her standard ‘garnet’ colourway – I knew exactly what this needed to be. No wimpy cables here. No no. Regal, royal, decadent cables. And nice and fitted, yes please. Tanis’ superwash Aran is wonderfully comfortable to wear and there’s no reason not to put it into a nice modern fit. I’m a particular fan of the 3/4 sleeves and scoopneck, if I do say so myself.

May6-Royale9-Sleeve

The front and back each feature a large cable motif framed by a smaller one, and the smaller cable motif is then repeated along the centre of each sleeve. Additionally, I’ve written the pattern so that the tiny cable twists from the motifs grow from the ribbing at the hem and cuffs. The cable patterns are all fully charted, and once again I strongly recommend cabling without a cable needle to speed things along, which I’ve talked about recently as well.

May5-Royale1

I’ve included instructions for 6 sizes, between 30″ and 49″ (garment bust size) and recommend that this be made for slight negative ease or zero ease if at all possible. Schematics are also included, so feel free to modify at any time if you wish – i.e. change the length, change the height of the neckline, etc, if you feel you would achieve a more comfortable fit this way.

This is certainly a skilled knit, but one that is not too far out of reach of any knitter who has a few sweaters and a few cabled pieces under their belt. Once you establish the cables and get started, everything repeats and you start to get into a rhythm. There is waist shaping, and the body and sleeves are each worked in the round, then once you reach the neckline and armholes the front and back are worked flat, back and forth, as is the sleeve cap once you reach that part of the sleeve.

May6-Royale1

As usual, please let me know if you find any errors or concerns. This has indeed been through a test-knitting phase by a friend of mine, but naturally there is always the possibility of something slipping through the cracks. Contact me at crazy.knitting.lady[at]gmail.com and I will do my best to help with any questions.

And now, I am off to put the finishing touches on one last thing that I’ll show you tomorrow. It’s been a busy little while here at Knitting To Stay Sane, and I’m just glad to finally be able to show a few things off.

Happy knitting, as always!

44 comments

  1. Uh yeah. I’m totally over the twisted stitches thing. This is SO gorgeous…bring ’em on!!

    Congrats on a wonderful design!

  2. Kimberly · ·

    Nice work! It’s really pretty…but you know how I feel about cables. Think I’ll just enjoy this one vicariously through you.

  3. Love, love, love!! I’ve never done a cabled sweater before because I’m worried about it turning out too bulky and boxy. But these are delicately scaled cables on a fitted silhouette. And I love the scoop neckline…there aren’t enough scoop neckline patterns out there.

  4. That’s lovely!

  5. Janet Kelley · ·

    Love it love it!! Can’t wait to make it

  6. Very nice! I’d love to knit this for myself one day – maybe when I get a waist back post-baby!

  7. I love it! I always think of aran weight sweaters as bulky, but when I first looked at this one I thought it must have been done in dk or fingering. This is definitely going in my queue. Beautiful!

  8. Oh its exactly what I’d hoped for when you showed that preview last post! Soooooo flattering and yet cabled!!!! I’m picking up the pattern Saturday for sure!

  9. Christie · ·

    Beautiful! I absolutely love your designs! Another one I will have to have in my queue.

  10. Jennifer · ·

    Absolutely beautiful. I want one. 🙂 Congratulations on yet another amazing cable pattern. I am in awe.

  11. Love the sweater and the yarn you used. I’m definitely adding this to my favorites!

  12. Morgan · ·

    That is just gorgeous! Thanks for creating!

  13. So, so stunning. It’s already in my queue!!!

  14. Oh, wow.

    *loves* ^_^

  15. Marjorie · ·

    Kudos to you Glenna! Love the balance of cables and the weight of the yarn – very edgy silhouette. Now, can I order the cute body to go along with the cute pattern? 😉

  16. That is an absolutely stunning design. You should feel good about it! I hope I’m skilled enough some day to try it!

  17. So very beautiful! 🙂

  18. LadyO · ·

    Stunning!!

    I love everything! The stitches, the shape, the fit, the colour!!

    I don’t think I’ve mentioned this recently, but you rock!

  19. That is such a beautiful sweater, both in pattern and yarn!

  20. Northmoon · ·

    Another beautiful design. Love the cable patterns – this is obviously well thought out.

    Sadly I second Marjorie’s comment – I need a cute body with a waist before I knit this one!

  21. tinebeest · ·

    Beautiful!

    As if my queue isn’t long enough yet and impinging on my academic career, then you come along… >:-) Well done!

  22. Stickweaver · ·

    That is *so* gorgeous. I desperately want it, but I suspect it will not suit my ‘matronly’ body. I must figure out how to do this… short of becoming 30 years younger!

  23. So gorgeous! Lots of cable-y goodness, and what a flattering shape.

  24. Abi (Lavababy) · ·

    What an amazing sweater!! Well done!

  25. That came out beautifully great job.

  26. Stunning! Congratulations on a great sweater.

  27. The pictures hadn’t even finished loading and I fell in love with it. It’s gorgeous!

    I think that it’s going to be really flattering for plus sizes too as long as you’ve got the boobage 😉

    I just wish my queue wasn’t so long…

  28. What a wonderful compliment! Well, luckily if one doesn’t have quite enough boobage you could just raise the neckline a bit. Either way, no bulky cables, that’s for sure! 😉

    G

  29. What a STUNNING sweater — Tanis is lucky to have you because I’m sure that yarn will sell out in about 20 minutes. It’s the perfect pairing of pattern and yarn. Excellent job!

  30. Dear Glenna,

    The sweater is lovely…and thankyou for the link to Tanis Fiber Arts. Did you notice the yarn at the top of the page? Mulberry Silk in the most beautiful colours…of course I had to look to see where I could buy some, and lo and behold there were 2 skeins in stock at Pick up Sticks…

    Now they are in the mail to me and I totally forgot to buy the yarn for the new scoop neck sweater, guess I will call her back LOL..

    Its a wonderful sweater and I think it would suit me, I am not very tall but think that it would look really great on me. However, the lace yarn I just bought is not going to work although the colour (Royal Flush) would be perfect.

    Now to find a shawl pattern…don’t suppose that you have something to share in a shawl that takes about 1000 meters?

  31. I’ve been back to ogle several times since the post first went up and just noticed the way the cable detail extends up into the ribbing around the neck!

  32. This is totally gorgeous!! I would absolutely wear this. Excellent job. Very impressive!

  33. This is so beautiful! I love the hardcore cabling and modern shaping.

  34. Malini · ·

    Absolutely rocking but still love your fair isle one a tad more.

  35. clarabelle · ·

    Glenna, that is a seriously fantastic design and it looks amazing on you!

    I’m trying to stretch my brain into thinking how it would look on a less slim person, with a significantly larger frontage. I really do like the design of a low neck with a t-shirt or whatever underneath and I think it’s probably more flattering for a woman with large frontage than it looks. I’m going to go for it!

    best wishes, clarabellexxx

  36. I love this and it immediately went on to my to-make list! 😀

  37. […] copy. Bummer for me, great for her! ), and the two new patterns from Glenna C, Neptune High and Royale. Highest on my list was to head over to Gemini Fibres because this year, after so many many years […]

  38. Gorgeous. I love the cables & the neckline. A great design.

  39. Just absolutely gorgeous!!

  40. […] thinking a lot about starting a bunch of new knitting projects. I am thinking about starting my own Royale (which will be my Rhinebeck sweater this year). I am thinking about designing a fair isle sweater, […]

  41. […] 4, 2010 by Glenna C I am moving merrily along on my Royale, and really enjoying it. I had a lot of fun when I knitted it the first time, and even though a […]

  42. […] had my own sweater identified for quite a while. Ever since I designed Royale back in the spring, I knew I needed to have one of my own. It was a sad, sad day my friends, when I […]

  43. I’m extremely new at this on-line stuff, although I’ve been knitting for 50+ years. Have just seen this gorgeous sweater, and wonder if you’ve produced anything like this in a cardigan? I’m wanting to knit an Aran/Aran-type cardigan for my less-than-svelte figure!

    Manythanks!

  44. […] (maplemom) was there with her mum and she was showing off her lovely, lovely Royale, and they were great to say hi […]