Jaywalking

I mentioned in my last post that ribbed (knit 3, purl 1) socks are one of my favourite go-to sock projects. It is dead easy without being boring – an approach I instituted a couple of years ago when I realized I wanted to keep knitting socks but couldn’t manage the monotony of stockinette socks every single time I needed a “plain” pair. (You know, as opposed to the crazy pairs. Not that I’d know anything about that.) Plus, it works with any sock yarn – solid, shaded, multi-colour, self-striping, whatever you happen to yank out of the stash and want to work with that day.

My other go-to sock project is the Jaywalker pattern. This one sort of snuck up on me, because the first time I knitted it, it turned out too small, and the second time I knitted it, it became so tedious I didn’t think I was going to make it.

And then, I happened upon a combination that I really loved, with Jaywalkers and Lorna’s Laces sock yarn together, knitted in the right size for my feet, and they felt so great I promptly decided I would knit at least enough pairs so that I could wear them every day of the week if I wanted to. I reached this goal last fall, but of course, when you wear the socks so often it becomes awfully difficult to wrangle them all together for a group photo.

A Week of Jaywalkers

From left to right (and the order in which they were knitted), these colours are: Tahoe, Irving Park, Pilsen, Devon, Rockwell, Mixed Berries, and Jimmy’s Journey (limited edition from Jimmy Beans Wool, last summer).

(Incidentally, several people have asked me in the past about how to get the Lorna’s Laces not to pool weirdly on the foot. Dudes, if I knew, I would tell you. I have no freaking clue. Sometimes it pools in crazy wicked ways, sometimes not at all. It’s all part of the glamorous and exciting world of sock knitting.)

I have gathered up a modest stash of Lorna’s Laces shepherd sock in the process of reaching the week’s-worth goal, and there will definitely be more of these socks in my future. Unlike the 3×1 ribbed sock, which I would knit just about any time, I tend to save Jaywalkers for when I am travelling. The tedium of the 2-row repeat works just fantastically when I am waiting in airports or sitting on buses or trains, and I get through the sock a lot faster than when I bring them back to home turf, oddly enough. So I think I’ll slot in a pair of those for April when I will next be on the go, to DC.

IMG_1565

It’s hard on the older pairs, I think, since they are not quite as pretty and new and shiny as the more recently knitted ones. But I try to reach for them all equally. It wouldn’t do to stir up resentment and jealousy within the sock drawer. In the mean time…I think I now need a second week’s worth of Jaywalkers. A reasonable conclusion, yes? I thought so.

18 comments

  1. I just love this pattern. I stalled on my second set, but one day I’ll get back to them. My one modification for next time (since I forgot on the 2nd pair) would be to insert a p2 rib between sets of diagonals because I need a bit more give. These colors are great – I especially like the purple and orangey comboination.

  2. You’re coming to DC? When in April?

  3. How do you modify the Jaywalkers to fit your feet?

  4. Great socks and wonderful colors. I can’t wait to finish my first pair of socks!

  5. Very reasonable conclusion. I concur.

    What a beautiful photo of all of your pretty Jaywalkers! 🙂 Made my (sunny but very monochrome here in Minneapolis) Thursday!

  6. Abi (Lavababy) · ·

    Ooh nice Jaywalkers. I may have to try making some, maybe jut enough for a weekend of them.

  7. Love the photos!

  8. Nice socks, I am not sure why it matters if it pools or not? If you do a short row heel will it stripe all the way through the foot? I am not a real short row heel fan as sometimes the sock is too tight for me..

    I have some wonderful Lorna’s Laces tho…must knit faster….

  9. ladyoctavia · ·

    I think you should go for a month’s worth…

  10. Love all your Jaywalkers – they are gorgeous. I knitted a pair with Lorna Laces too & had worn some holes in them.

  11. Oh darnit. Now you’ve put the Jaywalkers back at the top of the queue again. I was trying to branch out into more mittens!

  12. Hmm, I missed the DC reference on the first go-round. I’ll be there in April, too…

  13. radmeister · ·

    I gave up on Jaywalker after my first pair didn’t fit. Your beautiful collection of socks have inspired me to have another try. Even the pooling looked amazing!

  14. Gorgeous socks!

  15. These socks are really beautiful! I always have trouble getting my socks tight enough, even when I’m knitting on a size one needle. I think I will try these.

  16. How fantastic! All of them are beautiful.

  17. […] And they are beautiful and I think maybe I need a week’s worth of them just like I knitted a week’s worth of Lorna’s Laces Jaywalkers. […]

  18. […] sock knitting. First, there is the Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock. I have no shame in admitting this is 99% because I like this yarn for knitting Jaywalkers. It’s just…something I started doing. Shamefully, I have only had 1 new LL jaywalkers […]